Second-Hand Daylight

The cloud cover was almost complete this morning, but the occasional gaps and holes were all important, allowing the sunlight to sneak through and blush the flanks of the clouds with salmon and peach. One particular rent in the cloud had great golden fingers of sunlight shining through. I could imagine the sun trying to squeeze through the gap.

This morning was the first time that there have been sheep in the field. And lots of tiny lambs. I was speaking to the farmer who works these fields last week, and apparently the cold snap we were having then was pretty disastrous since it coincided with lambing and new born lambs often die if the weather is both wet and windy.

As I crossed the field, I could hear woodpeckers drumming from several directions. I wondered whether, given the time, it would be possible to track down one of them just by following the rapid rattle of the drumming.

When I reached Pointer Wood I hoped to see the rooks again, but not a one. I was a bit later this morning than on Friday, perhaps I had missed them?

Walking the circuit around Sharp’s Lot and Clark’s Lot I noticed that the sunlight was burnishing the upper branches of a couple of trees on the edge of the field:

Through the jumble of trunks in the wood on the opposite side of the field I could catch tantalising glimpses of the sun itself.

Having completed the loop and returned to the entrance to Pointer Wood, I found that a handful of rooks were now perched in the tree where I saw them on Friday. Perhaps they are not quite as regular in their habits as I had assumed.

Heading for home now, my eye caught a movement or a flash of red and there on a small garden tree – a woodpecker. It didn’t seem to want to pose for a photo, but flew onto a nearby telegraph pole and then on over the rooftops of the village. I thought about finding rooks and I found rooks. I wondered whether I could track down a woodpecker and my desire conjurors up a woodpecker out of the ether. Like Stevie Wonder, I ain’t superstitious, but what should I wish for next…?

The rent in the clouds had gone, but as I walked back along the field edge Haverbrack Bank was picked out in gold, the only one of our little hills to be bathed in sunlight. If the sun shines on the righteous then today at least I obviously failed the righteousness test, but just enjoying the sun second-hand felt like a blessing this morning.

Second-Hand Daylight

4 thoughts on “Second-Hand Daylight

  1. Hello again Mark
    I enjoyed this mornings walk seen through your eyes, and if I listened closely felt I could hear the woodpeckers.. It must be nice to have this on your doorstep.

    Thank you for linking.. I’m sure we will share many comments and enjoy each others posts.

  2. Great walk!

    While we’re talking corvids let me recommend, if you haven’t already read…

    “The Mind of the Raven” by Bernd Heinrich.

    This book sure made me start watching them closer and to begin to know a little bit about what they are up to!!

  3. beatingthebounds says:

    Tom: it’s fantastic to have this all this on my doorstep. I’m a very lucky chap.

    Ron – yes, I’m not sure how readily available Bernd Heinrich’s books are in the UK, but I shall be keeping an eye out for this and for ‘Ravens in Winter’.

Leave a Reply

