Four Seasons In One Hour

Today dawned cloudless, sunny and full of promise. We decided to take the kids to Morecambe so that they could ride their bikes along the promenade. As we arrived, the tide was in and we could see whitecaps all over the bay, which should have served as fair warning. When we parked I could barely open the car door against the wind.

It was all a bit much for the kids and we had to settle for a short walk along the stone jetty. A lot of money has been spent on Morecambe prom and the stone jetty is no exception. Amy and Ben enjoyed the artworks especially the maze, and also the fish and chips that we ate in the cafe at the end of the jetty. The building dates to 1853 and was apparently a rail terminus connecting to ferry services to Ireland and the Isle of Mann. Today we could see a convoy of huge boats leaving the modern port down at Heysham.

The best view form anywhere on the promenade however is of the Lakeland fells across the bay.

The two highest hills here, slightly right of centre, are Dow Crag and Coniston Old Man.

Clouds were funnelling in off the Irish Sea and the weather looked by turns threatening and benign, although out in the wind it was decidedly wintry.

Later I had a chance to get out for about an hour on my own, and decided to head for Far Arnside. The primroses on the grassy bank on Cove Road are still going strong:

Walking through Holgates caravan park on route, the wind was cartwheeling last autumn’s dried leaves along the road towards me. Although the sun was shining it briefly began to hail.

At Far Arnisde the woods and the hillside offered some shelter and in the sunshine I was congratulating myself on being out for the best part of the day. As I had hoped, the woods were carpeted with daffodils:

I dropped down to a lower path, and returned part of the way home along the shore:

Unfortunately, shortly after I captured this apparently summery scene, it was snowing ferociously, with the wind icy and spiteful. I found a place where I could get up on to the coastal road and beat a hasty retreat for home.

Four Seasons In One Hour

7 thoughts on “Four Seasons In One Hour

  1. tazdog says:

    Pictures look nice, too bad the weather turned ugly. The shore picture is really nice and I bet it’s a fun walk when the tide is out..!!!

  2. Hello, I just found your blog by way of Wiggers World, I have been in BC over thirty years (originally from Bolton but still love your neck of the woods, I was across the bay at Swinside stone circle two years ago and will be back again this spring.

  3. I enjoyed this walk with you in the comfort of my kitchen with a mug of sweet milky coffee.. This cold wind and I do not mix at the moment. The views you showed us today are a delight to see.

    Catch up with you soon
    Tom

  4. This was a delightful post. I would have been out there in that freezing air despite it all. I am so happy to have found your blog. We are walkers as well. Happy Easter.

  5. beatingthebounds says:

    Hello all. It was an exhilarating day. The weather has been just as changeable again today and I’ve been outside for most of it, I’m glad to say. (Post and pictures later, hopefully). Walking along the shore here is always interesting, and the tide really needs to be watched since when it goes out it goes something like 8 miles. When it comes back in it does so at an astonishing speed, as the Chinese cockle-pickers found out so tragically a couple of years ago.

Leave a Reply

