Gentian Boot

I’ve generally tried to resist the temptation to post photos of flowers from the garden, but these gentians are short-lived and I’m very fond of them – a photo here will extend their season a little. Besides, I didn’t get out for a walk today. I took this picture in a brief lull between the showers. We’ve had a lot of those this week, the odd rumble of thunder and rainbows as well.

This is one of my old boots, long since retired from walking. When, many years ago, my Mum brought me some gentians from her garden, it seemed appropriate to give these mountain flowers a new home in my malodorous footwear.

Gentian Boot

5 thoughts on “Gentian Boot

  1. beatingthebounds says:

    Hi Tom,
    In idle moments I have contemplated a corner of the garden dedicated to old shoes planted with suitable alpines.

    Good question Luiz. When I started this blog my intention was to write about my walks, the countryside around home and perhaps about any books or poems that I read which seem relevant. So flowers in my garden, family news, my current listening pleasures etc. are all out. It’s an arbitrary choice, but I have to draw the line somewhere.
    Perhaps I need another blog…..
    …..and another 24 hours in each day!

  2. This is so charming it makes me want to start potting all my shoes! And your photographs – is it your camera, your talent, your ability to read instruction booklets? They’re just so vibrant and filled with light – what a pleasure!

  3. beatingthebounds says:

    Thanks Cynthia its very kind of you to say so. I suspect that it’s the camera, or perhaps the quality of the light in the North-West of England?
    I haven’t got as far as looking at the CD-ROM ‘advanced instructions’ yet.
    The camera does seem to produce photos in even the feeblest light.

Leave a Reply

