One for sorrow, two for joy…

So…as you may have gathered, I haven’t really been ‘beating the bounds’ much of late. Partly that’s due to other distractions – work and the European Cup mostly. But partly it’s also due to a post-spring lethargy. Hill Wanderer sums up my feelings about summer in this post, but some of the highlights include paths over grown with nettles and brambles; midges, ticks, wasps, horse flies and anything else that bites; flowers that have finished and wilted. Ransoms particularly – so early to appear and so emblematic of the coming spring to me – droop and decay with astonishing rapidity once they have flowered. Bottoms Wood looks like it has been flooded and drained leaving the ransoms flattened and yellow. Other disappointments are harder to pin down – everything is lush and attractive but somehow the vibrancy and urgency of spring is lost. The lethargy feels to me like a general condition of the season, an external and general malaise and not just personal laziness.

The antidote of course is simple and involves getting of my fat arse and actually going for a walk. (Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising, Haply I went for a saunter) 

After a couple of days of gales and torrential rain, today was beautiful. I was late getting out and the light was low.

Bindweed is flowering now. It’s a gardener’s nightmare – a vigorous climber that strangles other plants, the long strings of bone white roots snap easily and each piece left in the ground sprouts to form new plants. They are pretty though.

Thistles are common, prickly and easily over-looked. But I think that I can see more equiangular spirals here, so I’m happy.

I walked down to the Cove and across the Lots. There was barely a cloud in the sky and little wind. it was very peaceful. A Kestrel flew overhead. A Heron fished in a channel. Six Oystercatchers burbled past. I tried to get close to the Heron, but as usual failed miserably.

I’ve posted photos like these next ones many times before. I probably will again, but I never tire of this view, so I hope that you will indulge me.

A second Heron was now fishing not far from where the first had settled on the far side of the channel.

As I left the Lots I could hear Magpies chattering form several different directions. In pairs and threes birds crossed and re-crossed from tree to tree. I’m nor sure whether what was going on was essentially sociable or some kind (phoney) turf war, but I can’t recall hearing so may Magpies singing together before.

One for sorrow, two for joy…

10 thoughts on “One for sorrow, two for joy…

  1. Mark, I know exactly what you mean about summer. I just recently found myself saying (in the guise of my retired professor’s voice) “fruition is a bore” and realized he was speaking for me!

    I’m glad you let the natural world redeem itself, however, and certainly your photography retains its lovely edge. Here’s to herons to come!

  2. Glad you got out and about .. ha!
    I see magpies chattingring and fighting now and then, sometime Jackdaws join in to.. I have personally seen over 20 birds inone of the squabbles..
    Keep your chin up and keep moving.. try some macro shots of the insects..

  3. I too look forward to summer and then flatten out!

    Or maybe it is the time for vacation from walking and gawking.

    But I am starting to experience zugenruhe!

    Hang in there! We will soon be back in the swing of things!

  4. Cheer up – there’s always autumn & winter to look forward to. They are fast becoming my favourite seasons – and it’s quite liberating. Just think of the increased photo opportunities because of the slanting light!

  5. beatingthebounds says:

    Thank you all for dropping by.
    Work and family commitments rather then lethargy will keep my away from the paths that I love for the next few days.
    I shall attempt to work the concept of Zugenruhe into my next post Ron (when I’ve completely understood what it means – blogging is certainly enlarging my vocabulary if nothing else.)

    7 comments…..7 for a secret never to be told….

  6. dragonmage06 says:

    Gorgeous pictures! Walking is one of my favorite things to do, too. I’m currently working at a national park, which gives me lots of great opportunities.

  7. beatingthebounds says:

    Hi dragonmage06, I’m glad that you stumbled this way. I popped over to your blogs and the photo of Great Sand Dunes National Park is stunning. What an amazing place to work.

Leave a Reply

