Broad-Bordered Yellow Underwing

I don’t know much about moths. I got quite excited last summer when we saw a couple of Hummingbird Hawk Moths in a garden in Yorkshire. Not only are they spectacular in flight, they are also visitors from mainland Europe and it astonishes me that Butterflies and Moths migrate. This summer we had a beautiful Garden Tiger Moth trapped in a spider’s web on our kitchen window.

Today, crossing the Golf Course on the way home from the station I was surprised to see what I thought, whilst it was flying, was a pink butterfly.

 

But…

…not pink and not a butterfly. Rather drab in fact.

Hang-on though…

…what’s that I see on closer inspection?

Not at all dowdy then, in fact quite a looker.

Apparently, this is a Broad-Bordered Yellow Underwing. The Latin name is equally magnificent – Noctua fimbriata

My field guide tells me….

Moth is easily disturbed, requiring little encouragement to fly even in daytime.

Given half a chance I would require little encouragement to fly. But for now I’ll keep on plodding and peeking.

Still can’t see why I thought that it was pink though.

Broad-Bordered Yellow Underwing

3 thoughts on “Broad-Bordered Yellow Underwing

  1. Butterflies and Moths ar everywhere in the blogosphere at the moment.And quite right too – difficult to catch on camera ansd only around fleetingly. And quite wonderful to witness. Yours is a little madame!

    Darren Christie has a nice collection too over on his blog from our weekend on The Ridgeway.

  2. beatingthebounds says:

    Alan and Darren,
    I follow both of your estimable blogs via google reader and vicariously enjoyed your walk along the Ridgeway. I’m sure that I went to Wayland’s Smithy on a school trip way back in the mists of time.

    The curious thing about the camera is that I have been using an Olympus 560UZ with an 18x zoom and all sorts of bells and whistles. But that’s back with Olympus (for a second time) undergoing repairs (to the zoom!). So these were taken with my older Sony camera. (DSC P73 if that means anything). It is 4.1 mega pixels and probably obsolete compared to what’s on the market now – but I’m very fond of it. It has a macro function and a 3x zoom, but I got these shots by scrabbling around with the camera held very close to the moth, which didn’t seem too upset by all the attention. I took lots of shots. Some of them were blurred, out-of-focus, over-exposed (I can’t work out how to turn of the flash!). But some came out OK.

    Happy walking.

Leave a Reply

