Hedgerow Provender

More images from my twice daily romp across the fields between home and the station.

Bryony berries, like colourful ripening cherry tomatoes. But poisonous. Maybe not to slugs though?

Yew berries (from the churchyard). Also sometimes described a poisonous, but I think that might be a rural myth.

Elderberries. I’m sure that we used to have neighbours who made this stuff into wine. Maybe I should give it a go?

These Rowan berries are in our garden, but the tree is very common in the area. Last year both of our trees were completely stripped of berries by Blackbirds, as soon as the berries  turned form green to orange. I read somewhere that the berries can be made into a ‘jam’ that is served as a relish with game. Any recipes?

Hedgerow Provender

6 thoughts on “Hedgerow Provender

  1. beatingthebounds says:

    Thanks Mike, I might just give that a go. Jelly sounds like a less daunting prospect to make than wine, especially if I can use the breadmaker.

  2. beatingthebounds says:

    Thanks Martin, I have Richard Mabey’s ‘Food For Free’ but I’ve not come across the ‘Easy Wild Food Guide’. I shall seek it out.

Leave a Reply

