Sparrows, Fungi and Squiggley Honeysuckle Leaves

Managed to get out again today for a short ramble around Eaves Wood. On the way to the wood I passed a garden where there always seems to be a healthy collection of birds. Always a robin and usually a noisy flock of house sparrows. Today the sparrows were in the hedge, perhaps thirty of them bickering, hopping, generally very busy. Because they were inside the hedge I couldn’t get a clear photo of any of them, but a few minutes waiting paid dividends when this fellow emerged to sit in full view.

I’ve been pretty disappointed with my many attempts to photograph birds with my new camera, but I’ve recently realised that with a little cropping and creative editing I can get better results than I had thought.

I know that the house sparrow is ‘only’ a common species of bird, but I love their ebullience, and aren’t the markings on his back and his wing feathers rather fine?

Yesterday climbing through the trees on Whitbarrow (where incidentally a huge clearance of non-native tree plantations has been very tidily carried out) and on the stag weekend on Muncaster Fell (another Wainwright!?) I passed over several good opportunities to take photos of fungi. The fact is that when I am in company I feel a little self-conscious groveling on the woodland floor peering at toadstools. Today in Eaves Wood I had no such qualms.

 

I’ve had a play with this photo too, using Picnik on flickr to increase the saturation of the colours. I’m quite pleased with the result except for the ridiculously orange slug.

This one is unadulterated:

Last time I was in Eaves Wood I noticed several honeysuckle leaves with unusual patterns on them. It was pouring with rain and my attempts to photograph the leaves were entirely unsuccessful. I found similar leaves today and unfortunately didn’t fare much better with the camera.

 

It looks like somebody has used a blotchy etch-a-sketch to produce some modern art. Is it part of the decaying process or the tracks left by some kind of insect?

I was on the look out for a suitable crooked tree in order to respond to the CTC – Crooked Tree Challenge – over on WalkingFortBragg. (Look for the seventh photo down) It wasn’t as easy to find a candidate as I had supposed. Never mind – I enjoyed the hunt.

Sparrows, Fungi and Squiggley Honeysuckle Leaves

5 thoughts on “Sparrows, Fungi and Squiggley Honeysuckle Leaves

  1. dragonmage06 says:

    Oh what a gorgeous bird. I agree that though the sparrow is considered to be a common species, they can be just as beautiful as any other. Also, I have had to do creative cropping with my less than perfect photos before, too. It’s amazing what a difference it can make sometimes.

    I really love the toadstool pictures, too. The underside of a toadstool is so pretty.

  2. I live on the Pacific Coast 160 miles north of San Francisco and I have had House Sparrows all summer long, flocks of them!! They were much more common this year than past years, for some reason.

    By the way Mark, your link to my CTC photo doesn’t take me to the correct page. But where ever it does take me; that is a nice crooked tree too!

  3. Eaves Wood! What a nostalgic name for an ex-pat to read. Here we’re heading into a hot summer and your beautiful mushroom photos make me yearn for the season’of mists and mellow fruitfulness’.

  4. beatingthebounds says:

    Thank you all for your comments!

    Sorry Ron – I wondered what had happened to the last photo which was meant to appear on this post! The link should work now (though I’m afraid it won’t bring much traffic). Go see Ron’s blog folks – it’s superb.

    Brenda – do you know this area? Where are you now? I never seem to be able to follow the link from your comments.

Leave a Reply

