Cobwebs Away

After my walk last Sunday we had two more bright sharp cold days. On Tuesday morning the thermometer in my car recorded minus 8 degrees Celsius as I crossed the low ground by Leighton Moss. Wednesday brought a short lived covering of snow. It was cold again to finish the week, but with an end to the anti-cyclone forecast and a warm front on its way, I was very keen to get out on Saturday.

I drove the kids to Arnside to reengage with the Kent. The weather was already turning, with grey skies and a strengthening and bitterly cold wind. I had planned to walk down to New Barns, along the river from there to the promenade and then back, but given the severity of the wind I opted to choose a shorter route. This turned out to be a blessing, because A struggled (“My arm hurts”, “I’m tired”, “Are we nearly there yet?”, “This is not a shortcut”, My leg hurts”, “My legs are tired”) and as it turns out was going down with the flu.

She was keen to find more ice by the river however, and although there wasn’t quite as much as last time we were here, she wasn’t disappointed. The tide was well in…

Apart from the ice there was also the entertainment of fording the small stream…

…which issues from the base of a wall…

…B was much more cautious then usual in his ‘new’ (=hand-me-down) walking boots…

…but he did take great delight in scrabbling over the rocks at the base of the small cliffs here…

“Look Dad my rocking climbing”

We passed the Coastguard station…

…and were soon in Arnside where we refuelled and reheated with toasted teacakes in the bakery. On the way back to the car we walked through Ashmeadow Wood – a rather grandly titled wooded corner in the grounds of Ashmeadow House. I tried to draw the kids attention to the two-note song of a Great Tit, pleased that at least some of what I learned last year has been retained. Gratifyingly, they were both too busy with their own observations – “Dad, I can see a robin”, “There’s a blackbird, look, look!”

Later, I was out on my own for a brisk tour via the Cove and the Lots. The post box on Cove Road is built into a wall…

…and is presumably pre-1952. Old ones like this are quite common in rural areas.

These slates have been stacked here for some time now…

…in parts of the Lake District, where slate is to hand, fences are built from upright pieces, but presumably this is not the plan for these. The obvious alternative is that they are for somebody’s roof, but although some have clearly been used I can’t see where. The views form the Cove and the Lots were not what they can be, but it was nice to be out in the wind, blowing the cobwebs away.

Cobwebs Away

Leave a Reply

