Mist, Sand and Victorian Rubbish

Out on Friday with all the family and our house guests, my cousin, his wife and their youngest daughter. Our route was short – down to the Cove and across the Lots, but took a long time because S walked a lot of the way, and because we stopped for quite some time at the Cove.

On the way to the Cove I was surprised to discover primroses flowering on the grassy bank on Cove Road. I shouldn’t have been since I find that I was equally surprised when I found them there a week earlier last year.

Views form the Cove were quite restricted by the mist…

I’m intrigued by this large post seen here poking out of the water in the channel. It was revealed by the erosion of the substantial marshy foreshore which used to extend someway out into the bay here. I’d love to know when it dates form and what it’s purpose was.

TBH accompanied the kids for a clamber up to the small smelly cave in the cliff…

The ‘beach’ here is usually muddy, but today it was a mixture of mud and sand. We drew pictures in it, and clambered on the rocks…

A and B collected various shards of pottery – their treasure, whilst I found another remnant of the Victorian tip here – a glass bottle stopper.

Our newly sandy beach.

Despite the sand, A managed to find a revoltingly slimy mud which she rolled into a ball and insisted on bringing home: “It’s clay Dad!”.

On the cliff-top path which climbs up to the Lots, there are a couple of benches. I’ve photographed a very confident robin here before. This time a robin sat very nonchalantly on the wall, perhaps the same one, given how fiercely territorial robins are.

When it eventually moved, it was only to move closer to sit on the back of the bench.

 

I love the detail of the texture of the feathers on these photos. I’m also struck by how very spherical this bird is. When I draw robins (I’m an inveterate doodler) I tend to start with a circle for the body – not quite as inaccurate as I thought?

Mist, Sand and Victorian Rubbish

11 thoughts on “Mist, Sand and Victorian Rubbish

  1. beatingthebounds says:

    Thanks Martin.
    I noticed that Darren recently intimated on his Blog that he has a soft spot for robins, but I think that there’s room in the world for at least two blogs with a recurring robin photo theme!

  2. They are indeed very good photos of Robins. I like them.
    I do like Robins, they love having their photo taken, so make great subjects to photograph. I have some more photos of Robins sitting on the the memory card of the camera. Not sure if you guys will see them as I think folks will be tired of my Robin photos at the mo.

    Which camera did you use for these photos?

  3. Amazing bird photos. I can never get the buggers to hold still long enough for me to get a hold of my camera, turn it on, find the bird through the viewfinder and zoom in close enough to make it possible to see what I am trying to photograph.

    You have all the luck!! 🙂

  4. fatdogwalks says:

    Great photos of the Robin, Mark. Never ceases to amaze me all the different shadings in birds feathers that you can only ever see in a photograph.

    Has the “clay” been made into pottery yet? (lol)

  5. beatingthebounds says:

    Thank you all!

    Abe – I’m really happy with these photos, partly because there are as close as I have come so far to matching the standard of your own amazing bird photos.

    Ron – generally I have exactly the same problem, but this fella, and often other Robins, was prepared to sit still whilst a whole group of us stood close by and I moved ever closer with my camera. (Not as close as the Robin that I photographed in Dumfries last year which let me virtually put my lens against his rosy breast.)

    Darren – can there really be too many Robin photos? I assume that you will miss Fleet Pond – I know that I will.

    Ken – the ‘clay’ has dried and hardened to a very solid sandy ball. Not too dissimilar to the real thing. Out of the mouths of babes….

  6. beatingthebounds says:

    Darren – Olympus SP560UZ a superzoom camera. Not that a large zoom was needed in this case. It has been superseded now by the SP570.

  7. dragonmage06 says:

    Despite the restricted view, I love the mist in the first picture. It makes a very ethereal sort of feel, I think.

    I also never noticed how round robins were either! Probably because we don’t get many down here in Florida 😀 Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

