Several Sunny Sunday Strolls with S

In point of fact it was two – but that would have spoilt the alliteration. Fresh from my moth breakfast (no moths were eaten in the making of this post – see the last post for details) S and I headed for Eaves Wood. We were met with colour almost on our doorstep in the shape of these Orange Hawkweed, which according Aichele, Aichele, Schwegler and Schwegler are Not British. Well, they were growing along the path edge amongst their cousins the Oxeye Daisies and they may be Not British, but they’re most welcome as far as I’m concerned.

We climbed past the old water-tanks…

…built to supply the grand Victorian house which is now the Woodlands pub. We were heading for the open grassy area in the middle of the wood…

 

…where I thought we might see some interesting insect life. We did – butterflies, grasshoppers and a dragonfly, but not a single photo to show for it. The flowers were more obliging. We found some more Bird’s-foot Trefoil…

Rock rose…

And this which I thought might be Yarrow…

 

…but now I’m not so sure.

I’ve often noticed this tiny creeping plant growing here in amongst the limestone…

They really are very tiny and it was difficult to get a decent photo because S had transferred to his Houdah on my back and was snoring gently. Anyway, I’m pretty sure that this is Heath Speedwell, although as ever I stand ready to be corrected.

Back in the wood, I was rather taken by the colour of these oak leaves growing close to the tree trunk…

On the margins of the wood, these flowers…

…reminded me of several other plants like this which I have noticed recently on path edges and roadside margins, sometimes this colour, sometimes with white flowers. I think that it might be Dame’s Violet another Not British species. Apparently potentially invasive, but on the plus side attractive to butterfly’s and moths.

The Wood Avens have been busy flowering, but have now started to produce their spiky fruiting bodies…

This plant is everywhere in the local woods, at least its pale green leaves often carpet whole areas of the woodland floor. But I haven’t noticed any flowers by which to identify them until Sunday…

Not that it has helped, yet…(any suggestions?)

The sycamores too are now seeding…

Another as yet unidentified bee on a hedgerow elderflower…

Later S and I were out again, walking to Bottom’s Lane and through Lambert’s Meadow to meet the rest of the family on the Row for a barbecue at a friend’s house.

Here’s the boy himself, demonstrating the correct use of a sun hat…

I know that I already posted a few dog-roses (hmmm – and a few last year) but I couldn’t resist the vibrancy of this one on the edge of Hagg Wood…

Meanwhile the honeysuckle flowers are about to open and bring with them the authentic aroma of summer evenings.

On Bottom’s lane we found this Meadow Vetchling…

And growing in several clumps on a dry-stone wall this…

…Stonecrop? Not sure which type – it doesn’t quite correspond to anything in my books. Perhaps it’s Not British.

S was more interested in this noisy cockerel:

Lambert’s meadow was a Battenburg treat of pink and yellow with Buttercups and Ragged Robin predominating.

Battenburg Cake….sounds a bit Not British to me. Hang on – it might be withdrawn from sale by the end of 2009? How dare they assail a bastion of the British tea time treat? Mushy peas too? Turkish Delight? It’s a conspiracy.

Several Sunny Sunday Strolls with S

4 thoughts on “Several Sunny Sunday Strolls with S

Leave a Reply

