Grange

We’ve been exploring South Cumbria this week. On Monday the boys and I took one of our favourite trips, to Grange over Sands.

We fed the ducks, a surprisingly energetic activity. Fortunately neither of the boys managed to throw themselves in. The boys cycled on the prom. We picnicked. We enjoyed the excellent playground on the promenade.

I even managed to read a little of Thoreau’s essay ‘Walking’ whilst the boys played. We didn’t get all that far along the prom, so it wasn’t a long walk for me – but I suppose that I could include it as a tiny part of my ongoing exploration of the river Kent.

Arnside Knot seen across the estuary.

When the tide came in it completely covered the salt marsh to the depth of a few inches. The boys wondered whether I had brought their swimming costumes.

Grange

Leave a Reply

