Doctor’s Orders

 “How do you get to work?” – “I drive” – “Well that’s no good, you’ll have to take the train so that you can get a walk in each day.”

So with that sound advice ringing in my ears, I have been taking the train again. Which is how, last Friday I found myself walking past Warton church as the clock chimed five having got off one stop early at Carnforth to walk home over Warton Crag. It was a lovely afternoon, warm and bright, the views as I plodded up the crag were excellent, but too hazy for great photos unfortunately. Under the trees on the crag the bluebells were on the point of opening and the anemones and wood sorrel were already showing to good effect…

But it was tree and shrub flowers which caught my attention, particularly on the bridleway down to the crag road. There were ash flowers emerging…

…and fully opened…

Sycamore (again) with flowers emerging with the leaves…

Blackthorn…

Wild cherries…

Hanging tassels of flowers on currant bushes (planted or naturalised?) on the verge of the track. Tiny gooseberry flowers. Emerging leaves on the whitebeam…

These yellow flowers…

…on a tree I didn’t know, but now suspect to be Norway maple. Another tree I didn’t recognise, also without leaves as yet, had clusters of yellow flowers or seeds…

(Sorry about the photo) which lead me to believe that it is some sort of elm, maybe wych elm.

After leaving the woods on Warton Crag, I returned via Quaker’s Stang and Fleagarth Wood. When I turned on to the track which leads towards Quaker’s Stang, and the RSPB car park for Morecambe and Allan hides, I found myself noisily honked at by six adult greylag geese who were shepherding a gaggle of goslings.

Two of the adults flew off, whilst the rest took to the dyke beside the track to avoid me.

Doctor’s Orders

One thought on “Doctor’s Orders

Leave a Reply

