Toothwort

Sometimes when I go out, I have something specific in mind which I hope to find,  and often having blogged about it before helps me to remember when to look. The Sunday after my Yewbarrow walk with B was a case in point – I went out looking for toothwort. There are two places where I know it grows, one in Eaves Wood…

…and one near Haweswater…

It’s a completely parasitical plant which grows on the roots of deciduous trees and so doesn’t have chlorophyll at all – hence no green. It’s an odd looking plant, but this bumblebee seemed to like it…

Toothwort

One thought on “Toothwort

Leave a Reply

