Round the Coast…Again

Sea Aster

Another wonderful sunny afternoon for a post work walk. I stayed on the train one extra stop and disembarked at Arnside to walk home from there. There are many possible routes home from Arnside, I was torn between going round by the coast again or climbing Arnside Knott for the views. Walking along the promenade in the village I overhead some holiday-makers excitedly discussing the tidal bore and its imminent arrival and that swung the balance – I would walk around by the shore. (As it turns out they out by a coupe of hours – I was almost home by the time I heard the coastguard siren warning of the incoming tide.)

 

The sea asters were flowering when TBH and I came this way recently, but are not mostly gone over to seed.

I watched a cormorant fishing in the Kent, but its appearances above the surface were so brief that I didn’t manage to photograph it until it was taking off to leave…

This black-headed gull was more obliging and posed for a close-up…

Further out along the estuary there are deadly nightshade plants again, in much the same place as last year…

The small field which borders the estuary and which is part of the Gubbins Wood nature reserve has a fringe of bracken on its southern side, along the edge of the wood. The sheltered environment there seems to be ideal for fungi, of which there were many specimens of many different varieties. The prize example was this large chocolate brown affair…

Entering the woods here, a soft kew kew from the tree canopy above had me confused until I traced it to a jay which was lustily pulling at acorns overhead.

This sea campion was growing on shingle above the river. Nearby there were also lots of plants with chunky red-green seeds and distinctive triangular leaves which I’m pretty sure must have been Good King Henry.

I wondered whether this…

…tree trunk had been deposited here by the heavy rains of earlier in the week.

There were many birds to observe in and by the river. I watched a black-backed gull fly upstream with something substantial in its beak. When I turned to look downstream I saw another black-backed gull also with a large piece of something or other.

It seemed to drop whatever its treasure was into the river and then repeatedly dipped down to return with something held in its bill…

At White Creek there was a vast expanse of firm sand to walk on.

Here and there the surface was broken by diminutive Christmas trees…

Which I think may be marsh samphire or glasswort and which is apparently good to eat. All of the plants were very small – is it really feasible to collect a decent meal of these? Apparently these plants were gathered and burnt and then the ash combined with sand to make a crude glass (because of the high soda content of the resulting ash).

Round the Coast…Again

Leave a Reply

