Dalton Crags Orienteering

PB192177

The weekend after our Brougham Castle and Hall trip, TBH once again left me insole charge of the kids (irresponsible, I know) whilst she went gadding off shopping in Manchester. We were joined by our friend M, whom we took to sample orienteering at nearby Dalton Crags. Our kids had an idea of what to expect since we took part in a fancy dress, night-time points event in Eaves Wood on the Halloween weekend.  That may have given them rather false expectations however, since the rules were complicated and we ended up as ‘Vampires’ trying to shine a red-torch on other competitors to turn them into ‘Vampires’ so that we could steal their map and points. (We succeeded only to become the victims shortly afterwards of another group of ‘Vampires’.)

Anyway, the Dalton Crags event, organised by SROC (South Ribble Orienteering Club) was much more conventional. Dalton Crags is part of the Hutton Roof limestone ridge and the start was from the same car-park where S and TBH and I began our ascent of Hutton Roof back in August.

We opted for the yellow course and the girls had soon taken charge of the navigation.

PB192173

The boys seemed happy to follow directions and race ahead to the next control.

PB192174

Whilst I enjoyed the unseasonal sunshine and mild weather, and the autumn colours…

PB192176

The route took us in and out of woodland. The limestone scenery is so complex in this area that the cartographer had invented his own unconventional symbols in an attempt to distinguish between the different areas of pavement, partially overgrown and otherwise.

PB192178

We finished in a not particularly earth-shattering time of just under an hour. We didn’t mind. In fact, if we’d finished in 18 minutes like the winner did, I would have felt cheated.

PB192191

M’s lack of enthusiasm here had a lot to do with the fact that 10 yards short of the finish she slipped and fell in a particularly muddy spot.

More photos…

The eagle-eyed amongst you may have spotted that in my last post I mentioned ‘days out’ plural, but that I haven’t posted about the second of those. I’m not sure that it belongs on a walking/natural history/castle obsessed blog, but for the curious….

PB130939

….an eagle-owl and….?

If you have kids of CBBC age you might know that this is Steve Backshall, presenter of Deadly Sixty, all-round action man and a huge hero as far as my kids are concerned.

We went to Preston for a free Deadly Day Out courtesy of the BBC. TBH had organised the tickets before realising that she would be away and unable to attend with the rest of us. That was her story anyway.

PB131014

This is co-presenter Naomi Wilkinson with a barn owl during a falconry display which was part of the day’s events.

There were an awful lot of people there and inevitably a lot of queuing, but the kids loved it. Here they are in the results of their den-building…

PB130993

I took a ridiculous number of photos of Mr Backshall and various creatures – if you’re interested, then they’re here. I have to say – his talk and question and answer session was most impressive – he really knows his stuff.

Dalton Crags Orienteering

8 thoughts on “Dalton Crags Orienteering

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I mainly experience it second-hand through my kids enthusiasm and the various deadly-sixty paraphenalia in the house – books, top-trumps type cards etc.
      It’s certainly fed the kids enthusiasm for wildlife, which I thoroughly approve of.

  1. Ha! I saw Deadly Sixty one Saturday morning last winter (having heard children I work with speak about it on many occasions) and I was impressed. I loved the guy’s genuine enthusiasm and how he made natural science ‘cool’ to the children.

    I used to really enjoy going orienteering with our sons when they were wee. Then they got better at it than me (I CAN navigate well, it’s just I like to take my time, and I walk, don’t run, so I know I’m slow!), so I’ve not done much for years.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      If you’d seen it over the last two weeks we might have been on it, since they were filming in Preston. I was really impressed – Steve Backshall took questions from the audience and his answers were enthusiastic but also detailed, interseting and clearly very well informed.

  2. D is doing orienterring at school in the new year so I’ll get him to read this post. The vampire version sounds a bit odd.

    I must be out of touch, my kids aren’t up with deadly sixty. I do remember Naomi Wilkinson on Milkshake from when D was a nipper. I thought she was a bit of a hottie! :$

    What a sad middle aged git!

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      This never occured to me, but surely D will love orienteering (as well as being a natural). I would think he might like Deadly Sixty too.
      Milkshake? Definitely sad. I would say that you should get out more, but I know from your blog that you already are.

  3. Excellent pictures and detailed account as always.
    The Hutton Roof limestone region is delightful walking, we visited it only once on a day walk – it’s next to impossible to fit it into a suitable longer backpacking circuit. The orienteering event must have been a delight for the youngsters.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yes, hard to imagine how Hutton Roof would work as a backpacking destination. No water to be found anywhere up there. Nice to have it practically on the doorstep though.
      I’m chuffed that the kids enjoyed the orienteering. I can see us doing this again.

Leave a Reply

