Shoe Review – Brasher Kiso GTX from OutdoorKit

Brasher Kiso GTX

Seasoned Beating the Bounds readers (hi Mum!) will know that over recent years I’ve walked in a bewildering variety of footwear: boots, shoes and sandals; new, old and completely dilapidated; Hi-Tec, Keen and Asda. The one thing they’ve all had in common is their total inability to keep my feet dry.

Well, now, hopefully, all that has changed. The good people of Outdoorkit kindly sent me a pair of Brasher Kiso GTX to review.

Eastern Fells from near Codale Head

I’ve had Brasher boots before, and that previous experience suggested that these would be very comfortable – which they are. I’ve never had a pair of fabric boots however and I shall be interested to see how these compare, and how well they last.

I’ve worn them a few times now, but their sternest test to date came on our recent weekend trip to the Lakes. The ground was thoroughly saturated from all the rain we’d been having, and it rained, snowed and hailed. The boots dealt with it all magnificently. We descended through Blindtarn Moss in the dark and the boots (with my feet in ‘em obviously) were fully immersed in the quagmire repeatedly – I fully expected that my feet would be a least damp when we arrived back at the Hotel – but they weren’t.

Fairfield Horseshoe

On the second day we descended very steeply on scree, heading from Fairfield to Seat Sandal – I was glad of the grip and support the boots offered, superior I would say, to any of the trail shoes which have been my footwear of choice recently.

I shan’t be searching for technical details to regurgitate, I probably wouldn’t understand them and couldn’t swear to their veracity, besides which, if you’re interested, you’ll find them for yourselves. And I’m not in a position to compare these boots to those of any rival producers, but I can at least report that so far I’m really thrilled with them. Next test: Pennine bogs – bring ‘em on!

Some links:

http://www.outdoorkit.co.uk/ – Outdoorkit’s homepage
http://www.outdoorkit.co.uk/brand/brasher_29.html – Outdoorkit’s Brasher page
http://www.outdoorkit.co.uk/product.php?product_id=8222 -  Men’s Kiso Boot at Outdoorkit

Shoe Review – Brasher Kiso GTX from OutdoorKit

10 thoughts on “Shoe Review – Brasher Kiso GTX from OutdoorKit

  1. Hmmm – I bought – remember that word, “bought” – a pair of Brasher boots once. Worst I’ve ever owned. In less than a year they had completely fallen to bits, inside, outside, sole the whole lot just came apart. Hope you have better luck with your ill gotten gains 🙂

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      My previous pairs were both leather, and yes, whilst my experience wasn’t quite as bad as yours sounds, they didn’t last too long. I’m hoping that this pair will be longer-lasting. Is any gear built to last these days?

  2. Interesting review. I have recently acquired a pair of Brasher Kanika boots – as far as I can make out they are last year’s version of the Kiso GTX. I found ’em for £50, and although I had reservations about fabric boots (historically being a leather boot man myself) I thought I’d give them a go.

    And I have to say: so far, so good. Comfy and waterproof, and easy to clean (according to Mrs. Jules). If you’ll forgive me for trying to shamelessly plug my own blog, I did a review on them here:

    http://www.amblesandrambles.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/brasher-kanika-gtx-walking-boots-review.html

    As for the question of whether anyone makes gear to last these days: well, I guess that the constant assessment of products either by low weight and/or low price irrespective of any actual quality is beginning to have something to answer for!

    PS. I’m a newcomer to your blog, so I’ll have a bit of a scout round later.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I read your review – a good deal more detailed than mine, I can see I shall have to raise my game. £50 seems like a bit of a bargain – it seems to me that outdoor gear now operates on a one-year fashion style cycle with things being phased out fairly regularly, so there are probably regularly good deals to be had.
      I was surprised by the narrowness of the boot, and pleased that I went for a size 11. but they have been comfortable. At first I was also concerned that the tongue was rather narrow, but with a bit of care when putting them on, that seems to be OK too.
      Feel free to plug your own blog – I shall add you to my blogroll (but don’t hold your breath for incoming hordes).

  3. I have become pretty disappointed with the life of some walking boots nowadays, especially so over the past few years. I have had several pairs of Meindl GTX but the last 2 pairs which incidentally cost £150.00 began leaking after a year to eighteen months use because the stitching that runs vertically to the sole behind the rand wore through. A shame really because they were excellent boots comfort wise but were simply poorly designed. It never occurred to me to look at Brasher so I am now giving some Mammut Mt Century GTX’s in fetching red a try.

    Your Brashers don’t have the design flaw I mentioned and at least look as if they may last a while. Mind you I will predict they will eventually leak through where the manmade fabric material gets lots of bending behind the toes. Why they still join the material at the point of maximum flex I don’t know. You can tell me if I am wrong in a year of two:0))

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      If it is 2 years I will be impressed, in the light of recent experience.
      I’ve done most of my recent walking in anything but walking boots – glorified trainers and/or sandals mostly and, more recently, wellies. Boots are so incredibly expensive – and then often seem to disappoint. When I have bought boots recently, they were Hi-Tech Ion Mask jobs and they leaked almost from the off and then soon fell apart. Shoddy, over-priced, rubbish.
      Maybe there never was a glorious past when boots were built to last and didn’t leak, but I seem to vaguely remember one. In fact, I still have an ancient pair of Scarpa Fitzroys in my garage which have served me well, although the cuff round one ankle is disintegrating now and the leather has become so stiff, from long neglect, that I’m not sure that I could comfortably wear them for a long walk now. Of course, they are fairly heavy winter boots and so I’m not comparing like with like – I probably could get something at least equivalent now, but I hate to think what they might cost.

  4. Gareth says:

    Hi,

    If you are interested, I may have a similar opportunity to this. If you are interested contact me on my email address.

    Regards

    Gareth

Leave a Reply

