Waxwing Invasion

Waxwings

Hardly news this, as it happened at the tail-end of last month. In the centre of the village, close to home: a flock of about 30 waxwings repeatedly swooping down from perches in tall trees to feast on berries from some cotoneaster bushes.

Waxwing 

I first saw them on a Saturday (several times) and went back on the Sunday morning, when the weather was slightly brighter, to take photos.

Waxwings II 

Allegedly, waxwings visit Britain every winter, but this is the first time I’ve ever seen these stunning birds. They’re all hustle and bustle, full of colour and character and very entertaining to watch.

Waxwings III

Marvellous.

Waxwing Invasion

12 thoughts on “Waxwing Invasion

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      They did a very efficient job of stripping the cotoneaster bushes and then disappeared. They seemed pretty content as they ate their fill.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Having a good friend and colleague who is a proper birder makes me all too aware of what’s about that I’m missing – for once I did see the birds she put me on the lookout for. Hopefully in the spring I’ll spot some of the passage Osprey. I live in hope……(oh no, hang, that’s you…)(..well almost…)

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Absolutely: I’m still smiling about the invasion of redwings and fieldfares in January 2009. I got some photos then on Arnside Prom.

  1. O.M. says:

    Some years we used to have a flock at the foot of our garden when we lived in The Borders. Never seen them up here. It’s said that, like woodcock, they are more likely to visit us during particularly hard winters in Scandinavia. Dunno.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I heard that Scandinavia has a particularly poor berry crop this year and hence the influx of waxwings. Does that mean they had an even worse summer than us?

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      No – I think you’d spot them in the garden. However, I might have walked past them but for the racket they were making – almost as striking as their exotic looks.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I think, but don’t quote me on this, that they are more common in the North than elsewhere. They aren’t resident though – just dropping in for a slap-up meal.

Leave a Reply

