An Early Bird on Sleddale Fell

Early Sun on Kentmere Pike

A stunning forecast for Saturday coincided with a busy family day and it seemed that there was no possibility that I would get out on the hills. But my Mother-in-Law took pity on me and offered to look after the kids until lunch time. Accordingly, I was fumbling my way out of bed, bleary-eyed and yawning, at five, driving by half-past and parking up at Sadgill in Longsleddale at six thirty. There was a bright half-moon hanging huge above the Kentmere ridge to the west and in the velvet sky the stars were beginning to fade as the pre-dawn light gradually strengthened. There was enough light to walk without a headtorch, although I opted to stick with the track heading for the Gatescarth Pass whilst the light improved, a route I might not have chosen otherwise.

A bracing northerly hurtled down the valley, an owl hooted from across the river. I confess, I did wonder a little about the sanity of the enterprise. It was bitterly, bitterly cold.

Birkett suggests following the path into Brownhowe Bottom and up to the col between Tarn Crag and Branstree, but previous experience suggested that this would be an indefinite path through very boggy ground which I had no desire to revisit. On the map, a stream heading west of west-north-west almost from the top of Tarn Crag seemed to offer a promising handrail to the heights. So I followed it, after peering first into the small disused quarry close to where the stream passed under the track. After the first steep pull the gradient eased and I suspect that ordinarily the going would have been a little damp underfoot. No such problem today as everything was well frozen. Drips from the edge of peat hags had become substantial icicles and the ground crunched and crackled as I walked.

Looking back again 

A fitter man than I would have reached the summit for the sunrise, but the fitter man was still in his bed, so I had the shady hillside to myself as an orange glow spread downwards on the Kentmere ridge opposite. A Tortoise-like steady plod has long been my Modus Operandi and eventually I toiled up to the summit of Tarn Crag. As I said, it was a bitterly cold day, but here it was colder yet – the wind chill must have been considerable. I flung on all of the additional layers I was carrying, but then, perhaps unwisely, took off my gloves to take some photos. My hands were soon painfully cold, then numb and then, after I put my gloves back on, painful again as the circulation returned bringing with it a prickly burning sensation.

But the sky was almost cloudless, the clarity of the air was superb and the views magnificent.

Tarn Crag Summit - with Survey Pillar 

The pillar here is a survey pillar, built when the Manchester Corporation was flooding Mardale to create Haweswater. I didn’t go to take a closer look, but if you’re interested, there’s a photo here of another pillar (there are several roundabout) on Branstree, taken on another stunning early February day. I once camped on the summit of Tarn Crag. Arriving in the late afternoon, I had the summit to myself then too. A glorious evening was followed by a very wet morning, and then a wet day splashing my way across the Shap fells and down to Tebay.

Kentmere Pike and Harter Fell 

Sadly it was just too cold to linger for long by the summit cairn.

Tarn Crag Summit Cairn 

So I set-off again, heading toward the distant line of the Pennines. Cross Fell stood out clearly, holding more snow than any of its neighbours.

Looking East to the Pennines 

As I dropped into the hollow which separates Tarn Crag from Grey Crag and Harrop Pike the wind suddenly died away. The contrast was amazing. I was out of the wind and in the sunshine – too good an opportunity to miss, so I stopped briefly for a hot drink.

Harrop Pike 

Looking toward Harrop Pike.

Harrop Pike Summit Cairn 

Harrop Pike Summit Cairn.

Looking down to Longsleddale from Grey Crag Summit 

Grey Crag cairn, looking down into Longsleddale.

I’m not sure that I’ve ever visited the little cairned and knobbly top of Grey Crag before, but it turned out to be another victory for Birkett Bagging – a lonely spot with great views of Longsleddale and the hills across the valley, and, more distantly, of the Coniston Fells.

Longsleddale and Great Howe 

From there I picked a way through the very broken crags heading towards Great Howe, which is the high point of the broad sweep of ridge on the right of this photo. Although not evidently a ‘summit’ in any way, Great Howe is another little gem with fantastic views of the wooded slopes and patchwork fields of the lower part of Longsleddale. I took photos, but they were into the low winter sun and so not particularly successful. Great Howe has two more survey pillars, but both are slightly below the ridge and on this occasion I didn’t feel inclined to detour to investigate, besides which I was working to a deadline.

Tarn Crag from Great Howe 

Tarn Crag from Great Howe.

Grey Crag from Great Howe 

Grey Crag from Great Howe.

Upper Longsleddale from Great Howe 

Upper Longsleddale from Great Howe

The slopes between Great Howe and Longsleddale are pretty steep and crags abound. When I arrived back at the car, I could see that it is possible to take what looked like a pleasant route down the ridge and via a stile down across the fields directly to Sadgill, but from above, knowing that this wasn’t access land, I opted for a more tricky descent back to the Gatescarth track. I once climbed Tarn Crag by following Galeforth Gill, a route which I can recommend. Now I took a line down and across the hillside towards that Gill.

Goat Scar, Kentmere Pike and Longsleddale 

Goat Scar, Kentmere Pike, Harter Fell and Upper Longsleddale again.

A perfectly placed gap in the crags brought me safely down to the gill a little way below an impressive waterfall. (If you choose to follow Galeforth Gill up Tarn Crag you can avoid the fall by diverting into the gully on the right, or possibly by following the tributary stream on the left.)

Galeforth Gill 

The stream bed and the rocks beside it were coated in a fascinating variety of ice formations.

Icicles by Galeforth Gill 

I was particularly impressed by these ice coated grass blades.

Ice coated grass blades, by Galeforth Gill 

Goat Scar and Longsleddale 

A final view of Goat Scar and Longsleddale.

Sadgill Bridge, River Sprint

Sadgill.

A very quiet walk – I saw no other walkers at all until I reached the Gatescarth track, shortly before I got back to my car. There were now fourteen cars parked at the road end at Sadgill. I chatted to chap who was sitting in the boot of his 4 by 4 tying his bootlaces, evidently about to set-off.

“What’s like up there?” he wanted to know.

“Fantastic. Frozen, everything’s frozen. Not much snow, but what there is, is firm and a pleasure to walk on.”

“Cold?”

“Oh, yes – extremely cold.”

I was home again by midday.

After lunch B and his pal wanted to me to take them for some tree-climbing and den-building in Eaves Wood. Then B and I watched the thrilling Calcutta Cup match on the telly together. Finally we rounded off a marvellous day with a meal at Cinnamon Spice Restaurant in the village. Two walks, a rugby international and a curry, and it wasn’t even my Birthday.

Throw those curtains wide……

A wee map:

Tarn Crag Walk

An Early Bird on Sleddale Fell

19 thoughts on “An Early Bird on Sleddale Fell

  1. Have you been on the “Get up and Go” Pills? What a day. Fab photos too (as always, Sir!) I loved the one of the Cross fell and the Pennines.
    Would it be possible to add maps to your posts?
    🙂

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks Alan – consider it done. Not very hi-tech or hi-res, but perhaps better than nothing? In case anyone was wondering – the red route on the map is not the result of GPS hi-tech wizardry – I drew it on using a slightly battered mouse and a mixture of memory, fine judgement and guesswork.
      It’s ‘Spring Fever’ apparently – long may it continue. Mind – when you walk as slowly as I do, it’s often helpful to get an early start.

  2. conradwalks.blogspot.com says:

    Referring to your comment on my post I see it was the Tarn Crag in Sleddale where I had an adventure; see my post:

    http://conradwalks.blogspot.co.uk/10th October 2012 “A day of good and bad bits – River Sprint”

    I don’t suppose you found a set of car keys by any chance?

    I remember those kind of stolen forays when I had a young family – well done. One has “to make things happen” to get the rewards.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Didn’t spot the car keys sorry.
      One has “to make things happen” to get the rewards. Yes, I need to do a bit more “making things happen” I think.

  3. conradwalks.blogspot.com says:

    Sorry. That link to my blog only gets you into the blog. If you enter Tarn Crag into the blog search box it will take you to the post.

  4. qdant says:

    What ! there’s a 5 o’clock in a morning as well ?
    Enjoyed the photo’s and liked the frozen grass, so transitory (digital frozen time now)
    I see you were followed around by your “Black Stalker”
    cheers Danny

  5. nick says:

    I wondered whose car that was -I thought we were early getting to Sadgill for 8 on Saturday! We went up to Gatesgarth and returned over Harter Fell and Kentmere Pike.You were right about the cold,we measured -15C on Harter Fell and it was spikes all the way due to frozen snow. A grand day out mind you.

    Nick

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Not surprised to hear that you needed the spikes. Presumably the -15C was before wind chill was taken into account? It was a great day – nice to hear from somebody else who was in the vicinity. Perhaps I should get a logo on the car – Read All About It at beatingthebounds blog?

  6. 5am – blimey!!

    Cracking day – did a walk around here with TBF many years ago but I can only recall the walk down from the Gatescarth Pass. No idea where else we went.

    Blog car stickers – now there’s an idea

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Not like you to forget the details of a walk!
      Next time I come this way I think I shall follow Galeforth Gill again, that seems to me to be the most interesting route to the top.

  7. That looks like a cracking hill day, the light is wonderful. Observing the sunrise from a lofty viewpoint soon makes you forget the effort of an early start doesn’t it.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Your sunrise photo from a while ago has inspired me. I think I’m hooked. You never know, I may even, make it to a summit for the sunrise one morning.
      The light was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

