A Walk in the Wolds: Caistor to Market Rasen

After our fortnight in the States, TBH had to go back to work. The kids and I had one more week however, and spent a few days at my Mum and Dad’s home near Lincoln. Given some children to provide him with an excuse, my Dad likes nothing better than a trip to Sundown Adventureland, so whilst he and Mum took the kids for a day of rides on the ’Pirate Flume’ and the Robin Hood Railway etc. I caught a bus to Caistor with a plan to walk a bit of the Viking Way, along the Lincolnshire Wolds, and finish with a bus home from Market Rasen.

P8290099

Church of St. John the Baptist at Nettleton.

It’s a while ago now, and I can’t remember the details, but there must have been some of the usual camera muppetry – low batteries or missing memory card – because I didn’t take many photos.

P8290100

The valley of Nettleton Beck

From the village of Nettleton, the Viking Way winds up the rather lovely valley of Nettleton Beck. I remember that there was some unexpected bogginess, a herd of white cattle, and another, large, herd, in a mixture of shades and styles with a huge bull amongst them.

Dad was born and raised in nearby Osgodby and this whole area has family associations. Across a couple of fields from the route is Nettleton Top mine where my Grandfather worked as the Store Keeper during the 1940s. Dad tells me that he remembers riding on his father’s handlebars on his way to the mine.

P8290101 

A Wold’s top track.

The sun was shining, the walking was pleasant and very quiet. The Wolds are only little hills, but little hills amongst pretty flat country, so the views are extensive: power-stations in Yorkshire and, more impressively, Lincoln Cathedral standing proud of the Lincoln Edge. (Another hill in an area renowned for not having any hills.)

P8290102 

St. Peter’s Church at Normanby le Wold – apparently the highest church in Lincolnshire.

I found a very pleasant spot to eat my pack-up and then dropped down to the village of Walesby. Slightly above Walesby stands the so-called ‘Rambler’s Church’.

P8290106 

All Saints or the ‘The Rambler’s Church’ at Walesby

P8290107

A window, donated by the Grimsby branch of the Rambler’s Association.

After Walesby there’s some unusual farming: first farmed deer, then pedigree Lincoln Longwool sheep at Risby Grange. (Where, if you intend to walk this way, it’s worth knowing that there is an unmanned shop/shed with an honesty box – I can recommend the Elderflower and Gooseberry  ice-cream.) Then there’s an unusual farm, Castle Farm, which looks a bit like…well, a castle.

I dropped down to Tealby for a couple of pints at the King’s Head, a picturesque thatched pub.

From Tealby I left the Viking Way and followed the course of the River Rase into Willingham Woods and hence to Market Rasen. A very satisfying outing.

A Walk in the Wolds: Caistor to Market Rasen

9 thoughts on “A Walk in the Wolds: Caistor to Market Rasen

  1. I’ve always hankered after a walk in the Wolds as they look interesting and as you say have expansive views for a a so called “flat” area.
    To avoid camera muppetry I always carry spare batteries and spare memory cards in a little bag that live permanently in my sack

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Good idea – I’m sure I could foul that up too, somehow. How are getting on with your new camera? Ooh – nearly time to watch United getting beat.

      1. beatingthebounds says:

        I’ve walked around Tealby once before, but I think that possibly this was the first time I’ve walked in the Wolds. Which is a bit odd given how much time I spent in Osgodby when I was a boy – about three miles off this route.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      It’s understated countryside: hardly dramatic, but very pleasant. I have to confess I really enjoy a good church. I like walking in the much under-appreciated limestone countryside in the south of Cumbria, outside the National Park and some of the small churches there are really fascinating.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      For me it was a case of often being there and finally getting round to having a proper gander. You have to make an effort with Lincolnshire, but there are some really nice spots. Gibraltar Point on the coast just outside Skegness is another which springs to mind.

  2. Living in Grimsby I’ve spent many days hiking and camping ‘wild’ in and around the Wolds. In my younger days I yearned for the hills and disdained ‘flat and dull Lincolnshire’ before I recognised the attraction of the countless winding lanes through classically British rural countryside, scattered churches and the Great Big Skies. The section of the Viking Way between Tealby and Caistor is the best of that particular LDP in my opinion.
    Nice report and glad to have found someone else to have enjoyed my local stomping ground 🙂

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Hi Elton,
      It’s an odd area for me – I don’t really know it that well, but I feel as if I do, if that makes sense. All of the place names are really familiar because of family associations. My Gran worked in Caistor and lived in Osgodby as did lots of Great Aunts and Uncles and their families, and we visited a lot when I was young. I’ve been itching to tackle this section of the Viking Way for some time and I’m really glad that I did. I finished through Willingham Woods which is quite different in character to what came before and again, is a place which is vaguely familiar, but at the same time very different to the kind of woods I usually find myself exploring. (Incidentally, an Aunt and Uncle and a couple of cousins lived in Grimsby so that’s another place we used to visit fairly regularly.)

Leave a Reply

