Brunt Knott and Potter Fell

A Post-Work Ramble

A Friday evening, and a walk sandwiched between an early escape from work and watching B play cricket in Windermere. ( Almost exactly two months on, their season is over, and a very successful one it has been. B loves cricket. Each to their own! Incidentally, the cricket pitches of South Cumbria are wonderfully relaxing places – some compensation for the ‘chauffer’.)

A sunny day had clouded over, but it was still warm. Later the sun would reappear and the cricket match would be played in lovely spring, evening weather.

P5160290

I parked on the minor road between Burneside and Staveley, just north of the Kent and then climbed past the farm houses at Side House (above) and the wonderfully named Frost Hole (perhaps not helpful to an Estate Agent!)

The route of ascent which Wainwright describes in ‘The Outlying Fells’ looks like a good track, but has a sign across it warning that it is not a right-of-way. I struggled with my inner trespasser but decided to take the path up to Potter Tarn. Just beyond the tarn, you’re into Access Land and a fairly obvious path follows the unnamed (on the OS map) stream northward. Stick with that path – it brings you to a gateway close to a nice rock outcrop, which gives a brief, easy scramble, and then a pleasant view over Potter Tarn and back towards Kendal.

P5160294

P5160296 

Possibly a garden tiger moth caterpillar?

From the unnamed (on the OS map) summit of 395m (Potter Fell?) the descent was pretty rough going due to the vegetation. The re-ascent onto Brunt Knott should have been easy by comparison, but I felt very heavy-legged. (I also had no appetite, and, I discovered the next day, a raging temperature, the beginnings of a cold which would last for several weeks).

P5160304

The ‘summit’ of Brunt Knott (427m) is one end of a horseshoe around Dockernook Gill, and in fact, there’s a another high point with a spot height of 429m, but no name. I didn’t have time on this occasion, but I shall have to come back and walk the whole thing. I also didn’t have time to complete my original plan, which would have been to take in another unnamed summit at 390m. Bill Birkett mentions three summits on Potter Fell which he would have included in his ‘Lakeland Fells’ book but for access problems. One is Ulgraves which is still out with Access Land, but I assume that the other two are the 395m and 390m summits.

I had some difficulty finding a suitable place to cross the wall by Black Beck, but then found that it was relatively easy walking, given that it was pathless, back by the stream to Potter Tarn (I’d expected bog, but it was surprisingly dry).

P5160309

To ring the changes, I  returned to the car by Ghyll Pool (like Potter Tarn, a reservoir built to feed mills by the Kent) and another farm at Hundhowe, finishing beside the Kent and into Beckmickle Ing woods.

A pretty fine outing, and the first, I’m pleased to report, of many this summer.

Brunt Knott and Potter Fell

6 thoughts on “Brunt Knott and Potter Fell

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      This was May 16th – significantly, a week after exam study leave started for half of my classes! I felt like I’d been let off my leash. Perhaps I should have said that in the post? It is a real privilege to have such lovely countryside on the doorstep!

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Me too Conrad! I enjoyed it. Very quiet it was, on a pleasant evening. I think I shall be back again.

Leave a Reply

