A Short Stroll Along The Shore

P9040752

With members of our little tribe now working or studying at four different schools we had a staggered back to school arrangement. The boys had a weeks more holiday left when I started back and had gone away to County Durham for some peace and quiet. (Peace and quiet for those of us left behind, obviously.)

On the Thursday afternoon, with the sun still beating down, TBH, A and I decided to get out for some fresh air. We didn’t go far. Just down to the Cove and then a little way along the shore.

P9040754 

The ladies decided to cool their feet in the channel, whilst I took a closer look at this rockfall…

P9040757 

Part of the charm of the outdoors is the way things change with the seasons and the weather and even the time of day. We’re well used to seeing the course of the channels in Morecambe Bay changing for example, we expect it, and the changes are frequent and sometimes quite dramatic, but I was bit taken-aback to find these large boulders and the matching scar where they had tumbled to the beach. The striking colour revealed is evidence of the haematite present, which was quarried nearby at Red Rake at the back of The Cove.

P9040762 

Apparently, I was missing out on shoals of tiny fish which were hurrying about in the shallow channel.

P9040765 

But there were bigger fish too, quite a few of them it seemed. We saw the splashes as they sprang from the water from time to time, and this heron..

P9040768 

…seemed to be finding rich pickings, when we weren’t disturbing his fishing.

P9040770 

I’ve cropped these already, they aren’t as sharp as I would like, but you can see a successful catch below.

P9040771 

It really was all wonderfully peaceful and not solely because the Dangerous Brothers were away terrorising their grandparents.

P9040778 

TBH and A headed home at this point, but I extended the saunter just a little by heading up Stankelt Road to Sharp’s Lot.

P9040783 

There’s a wilding apple tree there which seems to produce a lot of fruit every year. Last year I was bit late in visiting it. This year I was too, although at least there was still some fruit on the tree.

P9040782 

The apples are pretty tart, not as tooth-curlingly sharp as crab apples, but not really dessert apples. I imagine they’d be good for jam, but I’m only guessing really.

P9040786 

This year seemed to be a bumper year for hazelnuts. Certainly, the large tree which hangs over the bottom corner of our garden was shedding large quantities of nuts for a few weeks. Although many of the shells held disappointingly small kernels when you cracked them.

P9040787 

P9040788 

Acorn.

P9040789

Sloes.

Another autumn has passed without my fulfilling my regular promise to myself to make some sloe gin. I don’t like gin at all (something to do with drinking it in inappropriate measures in the dim and distant past, perhaps) but I do enjoy sloe gin. And I suppose that’s the problem – if I make some, I’ll only end up drinking it, which is probably not advisable.

A Short Stroll Along The Shore

6 thoughts on “A Short Stroll Along The Shore

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Well, if we’re confessing – like my kids – I’m not above shoving tactile finds into a pocket: a nice stone, a snail shell, conkers, acorns, feathers, oak apples etc. Afterwards, I’m never really sure what to do with them.

  1. I remember collecting these nuts, cob-nuts we call down our way. But it always took ages to get to the nut do we rarely ate any.

    I know what you mean about acorns Chrissie – a strange fetish 🙂

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yes, you’re right, they are cobnuts, or at least, I’ve seen that name before. I also thought they were called filberts. Booths were selling them as cobnuts this year.
      OK – quick research – a particular kind of hazelnut introduced to the UK, usually grown in Kent. Filberts when they are young and green, and taste like coconut apparently.
      So these, on a native hazel, probably weren’t cobnuts. Generally the nuts inside weren’t worth the effort of cracking the shells. We bought some, and they were much nicer. Quite different from the roasted, shelled hazelnuts you usually buy.

  2. If you do decide to take the plunge with sloe gin, take care in the quantities imbibed at one sitting. The sloe is a relative of the prune. Lord Elpus required all his, and mine & Andy’s supplies of Imodium after a night drinking the stuff alone in his tent…

    Serves him right for not sharing.
    🙂

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Hi Alan,
      I hope my laptop is tea-proof, I’ve just splattered it. Serves me right for reading your comment with a mouthful of tea. I’ll bear that advice in mind.

Leave a Reply

