Christmas at Home

 And The Strange Case of the Topless Toposcope

P1000349

So – the title says it all really: we spent Christmas at home.

P1000357 

Well, there’s a little bit more to it than that: my brother and his family joined us from Switzerland and my Mum and Dad came to stay too. Short local rambles were very much the order of the day.

P1000375 

Our kids seem to have forgotten loom bands, but this years other big craze (for them at least) of whittling sticks is still be going strong. I’m more in to ‘whittling on’….

P1000379 

Eagle-eyed patrons of this blog may have noticed, in a recent post ,that next to the Pepper Pot, which is really a monument built to commemorate Queen Victoria’s diamond jubilee, a smaller structure has appeared….

P1000380 

…. which is a toposcope, similarly erected in honour of the sixtieth year of the reign of our present monarch….

P1000384 

On Christmas Eve, B and I were up and about whilst everyone else was still sound in their beds, so we decided to catch the sunrise from the Pepper Pot…

P1000395 

…and we discovered that the scope, from the toposcope, had disappeared already.

P1000401 

I don’t know why. I’m no Royalist, but I hope it wasn’t vandalism.

P1000403 

I’ve done quite a few sunrise and sunset walks of late; I have a feeling that they may be a bit of a feature of 2015.

P1000407 

And, with the help of my new camera, I think that photos of Robins may also be a feature of this year. Here’s one from the tail-end of last year…

P1000414 

P1000417 

Me made several visits to the Cove and its little cave. It was different every time, from calm and sunny with the tide well out, to wild and windy with very high tides and and proper waves (which is a bit unusual on the Bay).

P1000428 

P1000430 

The boys love ice. They get very excited whenever the local ponds (in this case Banks Well) freeze over. Their thought process seems to be something like: “Fantastic: ice! I wonder if I can smash it?”

P1000436 

P1000445 

P1000465

A Merry Christmas to all our readers!

(I know, I know – think of it as a really early goodwill message for next Christmas)

Christmas at Home

6 thoughts on “Christmas at Home

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      It was – its always nice to get out, and the kids didn’t mind being dragged away from their various electronic devices if we didn’t go too far.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Expect many more Robin photos. We usually spend Christmas at home: we have a fair but of space, and its just easier that way!

Leave a Reply

