Clouds, Mist, Sunset, Moon from Warton Crag

A Saturday afternoon early in January. The day after our Black Fell outing in fact. The forecast for the day was pretty dismal, except that around three o’clock the cloud and rain was apparently going to clear to give a final hour of sunshine to close the short winter day. And it did. The transformation was so quick that it was quite stunning: blue sky suddenly seemed to materialise where all had been grey and gloom.

I’d planned ahead – I would head to Carnforth to do some grocery shopping, but pause en route for a quick jaunt up Warton Crag. I found a path I’d never followed before, which gave a very pleasant stroll to the top. I didn’t stop to take photos – the views were clear, extensive and glorious, but they would be so much better from a higher vantage point I thought, and besides, I wanted to reach the summit in time for the sunset.

P1000565

But when I got there, a low blanket of cloud had rolled in off the sea. The Cumbrian Fells were obscured.

The bay was only hazily visible…

P1000566 

And the coast to the south and the Bowland hills were missing from the view too….

P1000564 

But as you can see, the sun was suffusing the thin layer of cloud with colours and the cloud was still rolling through, shifting and tearing, putting on a real show.

P1000573

There were a few other people at the top, chatting, taking photos and enjoying the spectacle.

P1000577 

Gradually the cloud was thinning and clearing away.

P1000579

And the sun was inexorably sliding towards the horizon.

P1000584 

P1000589 

P1000597 

P1000598

P1000604 

P1000606 

As soon as the sun finally disappeared, the temperature appreciably dropped. Or maybe it just felt colder. When I checked my watch, I could hardly believe that I’d only been watching for about 15 minutes – I took so many photos, and I felt like I’d been there an age.

In the meantime, the Lake District hills had reappeared to the north…

P1000608 

As I turned to head back to the car, I noticed that the moon was already high in the eastern sky. The shadowy bulk to the right of the moon is Ingleborough.

P1000637 

My new camera does pretty well with hand held shots of the moon (switched to black and white mode and with the exposure compensation turned down as far as it will go).

P1000635

Having found a path which was new to me on my way up, I followed my favourite old familiar one on the way down. It follows a limestone edge and on this occasion gave great views of a thin smear of mist rising across the salt marsh and the fields.

P1000647

P1000648 

And of the lights coming on in Warton, Millhead and Carnforth and the flooded fields which surround Warton every winter.

P1000659 

P1000666 

P1000676

The moon and Ingleborough again. It was, for all intents and purposes, dark when I took this shot – I’m amazed how much colour it has in it. I’m quite excited about the potential of my new toy!

Not bad for a walk that lasted around an hour and half.

Clouds, Mist, Sunset, Moon from Warton Crag

12 thoughts on “Clouds, Mist, Sunset, Moon from Warton Crag

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks Conrad. As I say, I took an awful lot of sunset photos and I found it very hard to decide which ones to use, but the one you’ve picked out was always going to be included!

  1. Nice shots, the ISO, quality, dynamic range etc of the latest cameras is amazing isn’t it. Stuff we could only dream about a few years ago. Have fun.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Hi David,
      Yes, I’ve been amazed by what the camera will cope with both in low low light and when there are huge contrasts. Still getting to grips with it, but very much enjoying the learning curve!

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Nice of you to say so. It was really great to watch. There have been a few more since then, this year is already shaping up to be the year of sunsets for me. Oh, and robins.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I almost bought myself a tripod and a remote shutter release last week, but at the last minute I changed my mind because I decided I would never take them with me. I may re-evaluate that decision at some point.

Leave a Reply

