Homework

P1010330

Along with other small songbirds, robins are relatively short-lived. They live, on average, only a couple of years, but a few reach quite an advanced age. The oldest known wild individual was 11 years 5 months.

from the RSPB website.

Is that why some of them are grey at the temple?

Tuesday’s walk was part of A’s homework. This was a project set for Religious Studies and essentially required them to perform some sort of act of generosity. What a fabulous homework! She has chosen to help with our village Field Day’s fund-raising coffee morning. To that end she wrote a piece for the Parish Magazine; will help on the day and has also designed a poster which we were now distributing around the village.

P1010322 

Now Silverdale isn’t a huge village – I found something on t’interweb which claims that the electoral ward had a population of 2,035 according to the 2011 census – but it is quite sprawling; there are odd bits here, there and everywhere, so a walk taking in the various potential sites for posters was quite a good one.

P1010329 

And we detoured to some favourite spots too. Like Woodwell again…

P1010328 

Despite the improved weather, compared to the previous day’s walk, I still didn’t take all that many photos. I think that was because I was too busy chatting to the kids about this and that. TBH wasn’t with us because she was decorating our downstairs bathroom. She already decorated it a while ago, having chosen a paint which I would describe as ‘Submarine Grey’. The rest of the family expressed dismay at her choice, but when it was finished we decided that we liked it. TBH didn’t. So now she has painted it a different grey, with yet another hue for the ceiling. A has dubbed the room ‘50 shades’.

P1010332 

There were a few birding opportunities during the walk…

P1010327 

Goldfinch.

P1010325

Greenfinch.

We’ve been teasing A because she made the mistake of telling us that one of her peers has elected, for their charitable homework, to cook a family meal once a week. Why couldn’t she choose that? – we wanted to know.

P1010649

To be fair to her, she does chip in. When she saw that I was making bread for instance, she immediately wanted to help. That’s one advantage of being at home and not rushing around to visit places etc – there’s time for card games and baking.

Not that this bread takes much making. I used a very simple recipe taken from the flour packet. I shall summarise, otherwise it will take longer to type (and to read) than it does to make:

  • 15oz bread flour*
  • 2 teaspoons dried yeast (recipe says 1, I used two)
  • pinch of salt
  • 9 fl oz warm water
  1. Chuck it all in a bowl, in that order, mix it with a fork (you can use your fingers, but it sticks and you end up with huge dough mittens).
  2. Knead briefly until it comes away from the sides into a ball.
  3. Leave it for 10-20 minutes.
  4. Knead it again, just a few seconds.
  5. Flour a surface, squash the dough out into a rectangle then roll it up. Turn 90 degrees, repeat twice more.
  6. Put it in a greased (actually I cheat and use those paper liners) bread tin.
  7. Leave it to rise in a warm, draught free place. Might take two hours.
  8. Put it in the the oven, 200 degrees C, 25 minutes.

Butter it whilst it’s still warm. Enjoy. We all love it, and it’s really simple to do.

*There is a secret, however. This isn’t any old bread flour. Oh no. We made this using Granarius flour from Little Salkeld Watermill. I suspect another high quality, stone ground flour would do. We like their flour particularly, because we’ve been there, watched it being ground and had the whole process very thoroughly explained to us.

Their website has a slightly more complicated ‘simple’ bread recipe which I might give a try. If you want to buy their flour I suspect you might need to live in the North, preferably close to a Booths, although they don’t always seem to stock it. Or you could visit the mill, and their wonderful cafe, and try the lovely walk along the River Eden there.

And here I’ve been worrying about making individual posts for several short walks. Back in 2011 I made five posts just for one short walk.

Homework

7 thoughts on “Homework

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      No, just me fretting about nothing as usual. There can’t really be a limit can there – it’s my blog and all that! Thanks for commenting.

  1. Hi Mark,
    thanks for your lovely comments. Yes, I was very happy to find a steep hill to climb on Saturday. Lincoln is beautiful. I was brought up in Yorkshire and now live in Nottinghamshire.
    I miss the hills.
    I write quiet a few posts about my walks at the moment and my readers ( who arrive for crochet and craft) seem quiet interested. It’s nice being able to share the interesting things I see with others.
    I found your blog via Northern pies blog. I love your photos and the story that goes with them.
    I have happy ( if hazy) memories of a family holiday at a large caravan site in Silverdale when I was about 15. It had a swimming pool! Our usual sites just had a tap and a chemical waste disposal point. I recall my dad bemoaning the fact that it cost one pound a night for the pitch…..he was a typical Yorkshireman :0)

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      That would be Holgates Caravan Park. They have several sites across the area and elsewhere now. The current cost would really make you Dad’s eyes water.
      Northern Pies is great isn’t it, very funny, always cheers me up.

  2. Home made bread – Geoff has done all ours for years now. In a breadmaker, though.
    What a lovely homework task, too. Bet she’s glad she didn’t offer to cook once a week mind…….

Leave a Reply

