Nature Cure

P1010834 

We have photovoltaic panels on our roof. Yesterday they generated 6 kilowatt hours of electricity. Today they did the same. Not bad for this time of year, so the sun must have been shining. Sadly I was working too long and too late to enjoy it. What I needed was a nature cure. An apple a day is a very fine thing, but what I think my GP should prescribe is a daily dose of fresh air, a leg stretcher and an encounter with nature. I’m trying to fit one in when I can.

One evening last week, on a child’s-music-lesson-parental-taxi trip to Arnside, I used a half hour window to have a wander up the Knott. The sun had already set, but there was still some pastel shades in the western sky. I’d come out in a hurry, as usual, and was inappropriately attired for the surprisingly cold wind blowing – the difference a little elevation can make often catches me out.

P1010840

A familiar and very welcome ronk alerted me to the presence of a raven – in fact three when I turned to look. For five magical minutes I watched them sweeping and tumbling above the hillside. The apparent glee with which ravens fly in turbulent blustery conditions is a wonder to behold.

P1010844

When I lost sight of the ravens a buzzard skimmed into view as a second act. The effortless speed of the buzzard in the low light conditions defeated me and my camera. Not to worry, it all made for a very enjoyable interlude.

What do you say? A new direction for the NHS – a Natural Health Service?

Nature Cure

8 thoughts on “Nature Cure

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Me too- it can’t come soon enough, although, as you can see, I am trying to get out now when I can, even if it’s just for 20 minutes. I’ve been thinking about your Snowdon plan – maybe we could have a trial run, something a bit less ambitious when you are here. S would like to do Coniston Old Man for instance. Also, A is hoping to persuade you all to spend a day in the woods building a really ambitious den.

Leave a Reply

