Liverpool: More Homework

P1020432

The king to all who wish to have burgages in the town of Liverpool, greeting. Know that we have granted to all who take up burgages at Liverpool that they shall have all the liberties and free customs in the town of Liverpool as enjoyed by any other free borough on the seacoast in our land. And so we command that you may travel there safely and in our peace in order to receive your burgages and to live there. In testimony of this we send you our letters patent. Witness Simon de Pateshull, at Winchester, 27 August in the 9th year of our reign.

With these few words, in a document known as a letter patent drawn up in 1207, King John announced the foundation of Liverpool, a newly planned town alongside a tidal creek known as ‘le pool’ in the Mersey estuary.

from 1215 The Year Of Magna Carter by Danny Danziger and John Gillingham

P1020434 

In one of those happy coincidences which seem surprisingly, but which, in the normal course of things are probably almost bound to happen now and again, I was reading 1215 when we went to Liverpool, without having realised in advance that I would learn something about the town’s foundation in doing so.

P1020435 

I previously read The Year 1000 by the same authors, and like that book, found 1215 really fascinating reading.

P1020437 

A had art homework set over the Easter break: take photos of four interesting buildings.

P1020449 

She enlisted my help and I can honestly say that this was the most enjoyable homework I’ve never been set (if you see what I mean). The pair of us felt free to wander around the town unselfconsciously snapping away.

P1020458 

A’s favourite TV programme is ‘Grand Designs’ and at one point it was her ambition to be an architect, so this homework was right up her street.

P1020463 

A was impressed with the city centre’s wealth of Victorian splendour and opined that Lancaster had nothing to compare. Well, Lancaster is a lot smaller than Liverpool, and its buildings are generally smaller too, but I told her that she was being unfair and that she and I should have a wander around Lancaster with a similar brief to see whether we can see it from a visitor’s perspective, through new eyes.

P1020466 

It wasn’t just the older buildings we admired, however; A was really impressed with the ramps on this multi-storey car-park, in fact, I think it made her final four.

P1020467 

Whilst I liked this entrance to the Odeon Cinema…

P1020476 

She didn’t know it when she took the photos, but A now has to use one of her pictures as the inspiration for artwork in the style of the Austrian artist Friedensreich Hundertwasser.

P1020477 

It seems that Hundertwasser was himself an architect, although we didn’t come across any buildings in Liverpool even remotely in the style of the fantastical structures he designed (scroll down to the bottom of the page in the link above if you’re intrigued – they are definitely worth a look).

P1020622 

We finished our short trip with one last wander down to the river and along past the docks.

P1020625 

When we asked, before the holidays, where the kids wanted to go for a late-booked escape, S suggested Greece (because it’s the original home of the pizza he tells me) A wanted to go to ‘where goat’s cheese is made’, and B said (as he usually does) ‘Stay at home’. TBH would have preferred Amsterdam, but chose Liverpool in the face of the rest of the family’s indifference to that idea.

P1020646 

I think that Liverpool surprised us all to some extent.

P1020652 

And we didn’t get to either of the Cathedrals, to the Walker Art Gallery, to Speke Hall or Knowsley Safari Park, Formby beach or Rufford Old Hall.

P1020657

It’s conceivable that I might even be persuaded to go back.

Liverpool: More Homework

10 thoughts on “Liverpool: More Homework

  1. Peter says:

    Thanks for those images, you are sort of persuading me to give the city another chance. For no explainable reason. I often feel very ‘vulnerable’ when I’ve visited Liverpool, imagining that someone is about to come round the corner and beat me up just because they can. The emphasis there is on imagining, as it has never happened (or even nearly happened), which probably reflects more on my pscycle- ology than Liverpool. I too would encourage people to look more closely at the buildings of Lancaster. Though we don’t have as many Victorian twiddly bits as elsewhere, a refelection of the city’s lower fortunes in this period, this has saved some of our well-proportioned, if ‘plainer’, Georgian structures. Even the city centre has interest if you look above the shop fronts, producing some interesting puzzles in phasing the development of the street.
    ATB. Peter.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      We never strayed far from the busy, touristy city centre and docks area. All quite glitzy. Some of the other areas we drove through looked a bit more rundown and I suppose there I might have felt a bit out of my comfort zone. Years ago I visited a friend and we went to Penny Lane and and Strawberry Fields and generally wandered here, there and everywhere 🙂 But I am inclined to be a bit gung ho in this regard – when I spent a few days in Lima I wandered around there too (another city with some very grand buildings) against all the prevailing advice at the time.
      I guess you’ll know ‘Stones of Lancaster’ Peter? I found it fascinating and I have thought about planning a route to visit all 26 letters.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Liverpool looks like a city where there was once a great deal of loot and where there is once again a lot of money being invested. Of course, we only looked at one small part of it. I was surprised, though perhaps shouldn’t have been, by just how many tourists were about. TBH and I had a break in Wakefield a while back – it was great what with the Hepworth and the YSP on the doorstep – but I would have felt very self-conscious I think wandering around Wakefield city centre with a camera, whereas in Liverpool I fitted right in, by the docks anyway, I did feel a bit odd in the shopping area.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      It pains me to say this, and don’t tell Uncle Fester that I did, but I think that the buildings are more impressive than those of it’s Lancastrian rival at the other end of the Mersey.

        1. beatingthebounds says:

          Oh yes – I hadn’t thought of it that way, but you’re spot on, although I like Lincoln (I may be biased) but the Witham and Brayford Pool are not it’s strongest feature. I’m racking my brains for other exceptions but not getting anywhere as yet. Maybe…..Madrid? Definitely think you are on to something though.

Leave a Reply

