Cove Road Nuthatch

P1020727

Finally back from Liverpool and we were enjoying an Easter weekend family stroll across the Lots to the Cove and home again – just a short leg-stretcher.

P1020731

I was without my glasses again; I’m not advocating short-sightedness, but without my spectacles, the nuthatch in the sapling by Cove Road looked surprisingly exotic and very, very yellow. I wondered what I was seeing and needed the camera’s assistance to focus on and identify it as a nuthatch.

Cove Road Nuthatch

12 thoughts on “Cove Road Nuthatch

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I haven’t Conrad, more’s the pity. I think we had one in the garden once however. At least, it was a very muscular looking finch with a very large, powerful looking beak, so I think that’s what it was. At certain times of the year and day, the car-park at Sizergh Castle is also meant to be a good place to see them, or so I’ve heard, not that I’ve had any more luck there.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I’m willing to bet that the New Forest is buzzing with them. We get them in our garden, even on our bird-feeders (before we acquired the evil bird-killers) but they are really woodland birds, so woods are the best place to see them.

        1. beatingthebounds says:

          Yes! I’m beginning to doubt my own sanity – it seems I don’t need a dodgy spell-checker to produce nonsense. Last week I typed invented when I meant invited. Slightly worrying.

  1. AlanR says:

    Nice images. Sharp. I’ve never seen a Hawfinch anywhere.
    Lovely images of Liverpool too in previous post. I think the Baltic fleet pub is worthy of a photo if you go back. Its quite unusual inside too.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I agree – the Baltic Fleet pub is worthy of a photo and the YHA where we stayed is very close to it, so why I didn’t take a photo, or pop in for a pint and a gander, I don’t know. Still: that’s another excuse to go back.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Scarthin books – that’s it! I remember sitting in the cafe and perusing the cook books whilst enjoying a cuppa.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      No problem. Not the cheeriest of reading, but I like them. ‘A Chancer’ is very good too, but I think I must have borrowed that. I also have a couple of collections of his short stories, if you take to his very individual style!

Leave a Reply

