New Boardwalks and Returning Ospreys at Foulshaw Moss

P1030149

Time was fast running out on our Easter break, but the sun was shining and it was almost warm (much, much warmer than it has been today here in June-uary anyway).

Since my last visit to Foulshaw Moss the new boardwalks had been completed and the track I walked along last time is now under what looks to be quite deep water….

P1030150 

P1030151 

Indeed, the last small section of boardwalk before the raised viewing platform is floating on barrels and wobbles quite thrillingly as you cross.

P1030152 

TBH and A saw several lizards and there were quite a few butterflies about. B also spotted a Marsh Harrier. But the reason I’d suggested calling in at Foulshaw was on the off chance that the Ospreys which successfully nested here last year might have returned. They had, arriving just the day before I think.

P1030154

“I saw them, I saw them – two white blobs!”

I had to check his expression to see whether S was being sarcastic, but he was bouncing about with excitement so I guess not.

New Boardwalks and Returning Ospreys at Foulshaw Moss

5 thoughts on “New Boardwalks and Returning Ospreys at Foulshaw Moss

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Stunning isn’t it? The nest is a long way from the viewing area. But I must confess, I was still excited. I’ve had much better views in Scotland and Majorca (at the wetlands by Alcudia) but these are the first ‘English’ ospreys I’ve seen, having never quite got around to visiting the Bassenthwaite ones.

Leave a Reply

