Hutton Roof Ramble

P1030289

A first post work bimble of the year. I came across this path, which climbs up from the car park at Plain Quarry, on one of our orienteering visits.

P1030288 

Hoverfly.

A pair of jays flew ahead of me in quick bursts, perching tantalisingly almost in view each time.

P1030292 

This thrush was much more obliging.

P1030303 

I’m sure I’ve said this many times before on the blog, but Hutton Roof is always great value – there’s plenty of interest close to hand and the views are terrific.

P1030307 

Warton Crag and Morecambe Bay.

P1030308 

Looking towards the Forest of Bowland.

P1030312 

Trig pillar and Ingleborough in the background.

P1030315 

Looking toward the Lakeland Fells

P1030319 

Howgills

P1030320 

Middleton Fells

P1030321 

Hills around Bullpot Farm

P1030325 

Haven’t had a photo of a robin for a while. It was a great evening for birds, I could hear more than one cuckoo and the shrubs on the hillsides seemed to be thronging with busy birds. I tried to take photos of a meadow pipit, some warblers and several tits, without much success, but at least robins can be relied upon to pose.

P1030327 

Since ant mounds seem to have become, like robins, another regular feature here’s one which has doubled as a picnic spot. I’ve noticed halved hazelnut shells clustered on mounds before. I suppose the diner has an elevated position from which to keep a look out whilst enjoying a substantial repast. The Collins Guide to Animal Tracks and Signs by Bang and Dahlstrom (not Bang and Olufsen, hi-fi geeks!) informs me that neatly split shells like this are the work of an adult squirrel.

P1030328 

I was improvising a meandering loop around the common and back to the trig. There’s a great deal of open access land on and around Hutton Roof, much of which I’ve never explored. This stile was beckoning me into one such area, on the north side, heading down towards Cockshot Hill. On this occasion I resisted the temptation, reasoning that I would be heading away from the sun and in to shadow, but I shall have to go back soon and see where this leads me.

P1030337 

Ingleborough in shadow.

P1030338 

I think that this notable feature is Blasterfoot Gap, but if I were you, I wouldn’t take my word for it.

P1030346 

Blasterfoot Gap again. Perhaps.

P1030348 

Farleton Fell with the Lakeland Fells behind.

P1030353 

Another limestone edge.

P1030355 

Limestone Pavement.

P1030364

Eventually I wound my way back to the trig and then retraced my steps back to the car. Some time I shall have to bring a stove and some warmer clothes to watch the sunset from here.

Hutton Roof Ramble

3 thoughts on “Hutton Roof Ramble

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yep! Hutton Roof is a bit of a favourite at the moment – I’ve been back again since you were here. Look forward to reading about your evening jaunt.

Leave a Reply

