A Blackthorn full of Bees

P1030374

Possibly Bombus Lapidarius the Red-tailed Bumble-bee.

A short, sunny, evening stroll this, never straying far from home, but full of surprises.

P1030376 

The first of which was an abundance of very cheery wood anemones in Holgates Caravan Park.

P1030382 

In point of fact, there were hosts of other spring flowers too, but the anemones were the most striking.

P1030380 

P1030379 

It was a terrific evening for birds. Nothing out of the ordinary, just lots of them flitting about and plenty in fine voice too.

P1030384 

Blue tit.

Just beyond the caravan park I was delighted to find a blackthorn extravagantly in bloom. I’d been anticipating the blackthorns flowers for some time, now here they were in profusion.

P1030386 

I suspect our local bees were even more pleased than I was, they were certainly waiting in attendance in great numbers.

P1030390 

Could this bee another female tawny mining bee?

P1030391 

There was an enormous variety of bees on the blackthorn, but they always seem reluctant to pose, so I only managed to photograph a few.

P1030392 

This might be Bombus Terrestris but don’t hold me to that.

P1030393 

This seems to me to be the Platonic bee, the archetypal black and yellow rugger shirted hairy bumble bee.

P1030394 

It might be Bombus Pratorum. Or it might not.

P1030395 

I was very happy chasing the bees with my zoom lens. A chiff-chaff and a song thrush in the trees behind were providing a suitable soundtrack. Another warbler was deep within the blackthorn bush, offering tantalising glimpses without ever being sufficiently clear of the surrounding branches for a decent photo.

Eventually, and slightly reluctantly, I dragged myself away and went in search of the hellebores which had brought me this way in the first place.

P1030399 

I found some, but they were on the wrong side of a fence so I wasn’t able to rummage under the leaves to find the shy green flowers which were probably lurking there. Not to worry, a pair of coal tits burst out of a thicket and landed close by in the hedge.

P1030402 

Ash trees, like blackthorn, flower before they come into leaf. These…

P1030403 

…are female ash flowers. The gender of ash trees is a complicated business. But we shan’t concern ourselves with that today, because just after I’d passed Arnside Tower…

P1030404 

And was climbing back towards Eaves Wood, I spotted high above me in another ash tree….

P1030408 

…a blue tit apparently eating the flowers. I watched until the blue tit flew away, and was replaced in the trees branches by another tuneful song thrush.

P1030410

More gawking than walking on this outing, but immensely satisfying none-the-less.

A Blackthorn full of Bees

3 thoughts on “A Blackthorn full of Bees

  1. Cracking photos there, I should play more with my macro shots and zoom lens, having TJS along on walks isn’t conducive to stops, affects the collection of miles you see

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I rarely take photos like these unless I’m on my own – it’s asking too much of the patience of your companions. The macro is one area where my new camera seems to me to be inferior to the Olympus, but I’m finding that a lot of the time I can use the zoom instead and that I can get much better photos that way, certainly of moving subjects. It’s all part of the fun, getting to grips with your camera’s capabilities!

Leave a Reply

