Dersingham Bog

P1040409 

Dersingham Bog is a largish nature reserve hard by the Royal residence at Sandringham. You can visit Sandringham, although you have to pay a hefty fee. Dersingham bog, on the other hand, is completely free – and a much more attractive proposition. The bog is encircled, to the west, by a steep escarpment – a remnant of a former coastline. It came as quite a surprise to find this relatively wild area in the midst of rural Norfolk.

P1040407 

The boys were all mightily impressed with the numerous grasshoppers we spotted.

My nephew….

P1040399 

…proved to be equally adept at catching them as his cousin B.

P1040398 

There are several UK species of grasshopper and I have to confess that I can’t tell them apart. I thought that this rather strikingly coloured specimen…

P1040404 

…would be easily identified, but I’m not even sure that I can do that with any confidence.

P1040405 

P1040401 

A shield bug, getting in on the action.

There are a couple of small car parks and three adjacent, way-marked routes on the edge of the bog. By joining two of those routes together we found a walk suitable for the many age-groups represented in our substantial party…

P1040410

If you ever find yourself wavering in the proximity of Sandringham, I can heartily recommend Dersingham Bog as an alternative.

Dersingham Bog

4 thoughts on “Dersingham Bog

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yes – lots to see in Norfolk Conrad. I think that if I were walking from Lowestoft to the Lakes, however, I would have to put my best foot forward and do a lot less dallying or I should never get anywhere.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Have you read ‘My Family and Other Animals’? I haven’t, but I probably should – I suspect it would be right up my street.

Leave a Reply

