All Wrapped Up

P1040894

You probably have to be of a certain age and disposition to know that ‘All Wrapped Up’ was a double compilation of some of The Undertones finest moments. The album sleeve featured a photo by John Pretious showing fellow graphic design student Cath Johnson wearing a dress made from raw meat and cellophane and accessorised with a string-of-sausages necklace. To put it mildly, it wasn’t to everyone’s taste; in fact it caused something of a hullaballoo. Now, I know – though I don’t understand – that not everyone shares my admiration of spiders. So I should warn you that if, inexplicably, you feel indifferent or even ill-disposed toward our arachnid neighbours, then you should probably look away now; this post consists principally of lots of close-ups of a spider at work, and like the Derry punksters LP cover, it might cause some people offense.  

P1040896 

The beautiful blue hue in the background of these photos is not the sky, or rather, it is the sky, but seen indirectly, reflected in our kitchen window. I suspect, but can’t remember, that I was on the other side of the glass, washing-up, when I first noticed this spider busily wrapping up a meal for storage purposes.

P1040900 

I’m pretty confident that this is Araneus diadematus named for the cross which occurs on its back. A common and widespread species, which is found right across Europe and North America, which might explain why, unlike many less well known species of spider, it has numerous common names – garden spider, diadem spider, cross spider, or crowned orb weaver.

P1040901 

I’m sure that I’ve used this well-known Jerome K. Jerome quote before:

“I like work: it fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours.”

But it bears repetition.

P1040906 

I don’t need much encouragement to abandon the dirty dishes in the sink, but it would have been a crying shame to miss the deft way in which this spider swathed its prey in gossamer. At times the spider was delicately spinning the fly, presumably shrouding it in the process.

P1040908 

P1040909 

P1040913 

P1040912 

P1040914 

P1040916 

Once the carcass was all wrapped up, the spider rapidly carried it, hanging by a thread, up to the top of the web.

P1040917 

P1040918 

P1040919 

Apparently the colours of diadem spiders vary quite considerably, from ‘extremely light yellow to very dark grey’, but maybe that’s as much to do with the quality of the light rather then an inherent feature of individual spiders….

P1040922 

I remember assuming, at the time, that what the spider was busy dressing was a bee, but now I’m not so sure.

P1040925 

These large daisy type flowers growing in a bed adjacent to the window were full of hoverflies.

P1040926 

The spider’s prey could easily have been one of these darker hoverflies.

P1040929 

In fact, the wonderful Indian Summer we enjoyed in September and October, and which seems so distant now, was in full swing and our garden was generally very busy. The buddleia was host to a wide variety of butterflies for a change.

P1040934

I think that this sunbather is probably a Common Darter.

And, now that I was on the lookout, there were plenty more spiders to be found…

P1040931 

P1040933 

Now – if I could just get outside, with or without my camera, in some light like this….

Links:

More about the ‘All Wrapped Up’ Cover.

More about Araneus Diadematus

All Wrapped Up

8 thoughts on “All Wrapped Up

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Hi Conrad, you needn’t feel sorry for me – we do have a dishwasher, but sometimes old-fashioned methods are still called upon too! Lately I seem to have used my camera as much in our garden as any where else, which is OK, but I shall endeavour to venture further afield when and if this dreadful run of weather ever comes to an end.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Hi Dan, you’re back! (I can see that you might argue that you never went away). How did your homegrown baccy work-out? Glad you enjoyed the snaps! I did see the spider, I assumed that you photo-shopped it, or some such jiggery-pokery? Or was it the result of some sort of exotic invasion?

Leave a Reply

