A Promenade to Heysham

P1040960

Left a child at a birthday party in the West End of Morecambe, two hours until pick-up, hardly worth driving home, but just about time for a stroll along the promenade to the headland at Heysham, an old favourite walk from many years ago when I lived in Morecambe and, since I relied on public transport to get about, often tried to find walks to do straight from my own front door.

P1040961 

You can tell that this was a while ago: back in September it was, before the deluge started, and it was still possible for the sun to shine.

P1040963 

I didn’t really have time to explore properly at Heysham – for instance I’ve never been into the ancient church of St. Peter’s, something I must remedy next time I am ferrying children to this vicinity.

P1040964 

Hard by St. Peter’s is the ruin of St. Patrick’s, which is also extremely old and atmospheric.

P1040965 

Quite hard to find a great deal on the internet about St. Patrick’s. This sign from the site itself…

P1040966

 

…is at least as informative as anything I could find elsewhere.

P1040967 

The rock cut graves are very small. Understandably perhaps, given the effort which must have been involved, but I remember reading, in Lacey and Danziger’s excellent ‘The Year 1000’ that the Saxon, Viking and later Norman people who lived in England around when it’s thought that these were sculpted, were generally well-fed, tall and long limbed.

P1040969 

Sadly, I didn’t have time to linger, but the walk back was lovely, with large mixed flocks of seabirds on the shore providing distractions along the way.

P1040976 

Another option for my next taxi–outing to Morecambe would be take TBH for Afternoon Tea in the sun lounge of the Midland Hotel.

P1040977

I might feel justified then in aiming my camera at the restored Art Deco interior and in particular the Eric Gill sculptures there…coming (soon?) to a blog near you…

Links:

Reviews of ‘The Year 1000’ on goodreads

A History of the Midland Hotel

A Review of David Constantine’s award-winning short-story ‘Tea at the Midland’

National Trust page about St. Patrick’s

A Promenade to Heysham

4 thoughts on “A Promenade to Heysham

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      It also has a number of nature reserves, a ferry terminal and a nuclear power station! I suspect that we’ve only scratched the surface of what’s to be seen around here, which is good I suppose – still lots to be discovered.

  1. peter iles says:

    The National Trust (who now own the open land around Heysham Head) have just applied to replace the old information panel at the chapel and add a couple more on the routes in, to give a bit more information on the chapel and other features there. Did you know that the grassy land to the west of the chapel was a Mesolithic flint chipping site and that it was re-used in WWII as part of the anti-aircraft defences for Heysham Harbour and the adjacent petro-chemical plant (Trimpel – involved in the production of aviation-grade petrol for the RAF amongst other things)?

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I didn’t know any of those things Peter. Does that mean I might find flint axe-heads or the like if I look long enough and hard enough? Hence the Trimpell Sports and Social Club then – I’ve often wondered about that name.
      Fascinating as ever – thank you.

Leave a Reply

