Quick Fixes

P1060330

I got behind again, these photos are a month old now. This first one is from a flying visit to Arnside Knott during A’s weekly piano lesson.

Later that same evening, TBH and I took a turn around the village, taking in The Cove and The Lots. On The Lots the Early Purple Orchids were just beginning to emerge. I walked round that way again last night, too late for any photo opportunities, but even in the last of the gloaming the orchids looked spectacular. I’m sure that they have spread; they seem to be thriving.

P1060333 

Anyway, back to April –  the following evening I was out again, this time visiting Sharp’s Lot, Pointer Wood and Clark’s Lot.

P1060340 

Many of the trees were coming into leaf.

P1060342 

The sheltered spot in the limestone pavement where the primroses flourish was finally looking resplendent. The primroses too seem to be spreading and thriving.

P1060349 

I’d completely forgotten taking this photo…

P1060359

In the late winter and early spring the sound of woodpeckers drumming is almost a constant soundtrack in this area. I often see them when I’m out and about too, but they are incredibly elusive whenever a camera is aimed in their direction. This is hardly the best ever photograph of a woodpecker, but at least it’s recognisable.

Not much else to say about these brief outings so I thought I would mention again Claxton by Mark Cocker, who manages to always have something interesting to say about his wildlife observations in and around his home patch in Norfolk.

P1060423

Highly recommended.

Quick Fixes

2 thoughts on “Quick Fixes

  1. I can sympathise with efforts to photograph a woodpecker. We have quite a few in the local area and you hear them regularly but sightings are nothing more than glimpses and I’ve never managed a photo. That view from the top of Arnside Knott never fails to inspire

  2. beatingthebounds says:

    I’ve managed to photograph spotted woodpeckers a few times, but never very satisfactorily. Last week I had a few glimpses of a green woodpecker, but they are always gone before I even have my camera switched on.

Leave a Reply

