Pulchritudinous Pruinosity

Lambert’s Meadow – Bank Well – The Row – Myer’s Allotment.

Later that day: A Tour of Trowbarrow

P1060709

Ragged Robin

P1060714

A Green-veined White on Cuckooflower.

Cuckooflower is one of the food-plants for the caterpillars of Green-veined  White. This butterfly was flitting from Cuckooflower t0 Cuckooflower, ignoring the many other blooms on offer. Green-veined Whites favour damp areas, which makes Lambert’s Meadow a perfect environment for them.

P1060722

Emerald Damselfly (I think).

At Myer’s Allotment my every step seemed to raise clouds of damselflies. Once landed again, they weren’t always easy to pick out against the ground, despite, in some cases, their vivid metallic colouration.

P1060726

Common Blue Damselfly.

P1060755

The Cinnabar.

P1060743

Bee Fly.

P1060738

Myer’s Allotment view.

P1060720

Broad-bodied Chaser (again).

P1060762

Black-tailed Skimmer.

P1060763

A new dragonfly to me and therefore very exciting. This is either a female or an immature male. Males ‘develop a blue pruinescence on the abdomen darkening to the rear with S8-10 becoming black’. (This from the British Dragonfly Society website).

S8-10 refers to the eighth to tenth segments of the tail.

Pruinescence, or pruinosity, is a dusty looking coating on top of a surface. Well I never. I particularly like pruinosity and shall be using it at every suitable opportunity. ‘Look at the pruinosity on ‘ere!’ for example.

P1060767

Another Green-veined White. (I think).

P1060770

Common Blue.

P1060768

Bird’s-foot Trefoil (with bee).

P1060775

Fossilised Coral at Trowbarrow.

P1060776

More Trowbarrow fossils.

P1060781

I think that this might be a Tree Bumblebee, a species which only arrived here from Mainland Europe this century and has spread rapidly, helped by the profusion of bird-boxes in the UK, where it tends to build nests, even sometimes evicting resident Blue Tits in the process. (Yes, I know, the temptation to draw some kind of political parallel here would be almost overwhelming were I of the persuasion that we can somehow up-anchor and sail away across the Atlantic, as many people seem to be at present. But I’m not.)

P1060785

Common Blue Damselfly.

Pulchritudinous Pruinosity

7 thoughts on “Pulchritudinous Pruinosity

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thank you Alan. We could do with some more sunshine so that I can get out to try to take some more!

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I used to think I had several, although my capacity for rapid and excessive beer-guzzling has completely deserted me, and I can’t remember what the others ones were 😦 . I don’t have even a fraction of the patience which proper wildlife photographers must have. Keeps me busy though! (And away from the temptations of rapid and excessive beer-guzzling).

Leave a Reply

