Orchids and Egrets

P1070028

River Bela

A Tuesday evening and another dance lesson for A, meaning another brief window of opportunity for a wander. I took an oft-repeated circuit along the River Bela to where it meets the Kent, then up on to the course of the old Milnthorpe to Arnside branch line and finally back along the road to the car.

P1070029

Whitbarrow and the Bela.

The sun was shining, but dark clouds threatened to the east and south; it seemed only a matter of time before the rain would arrive.

P1070030

Dark skies over the weir.

P1070031

Dallam Bridge

This Grey Heron was much further from my lens than the one which I photographed at Attenborough recently, but I decided to try to capture its antics anyway…

P1070038

It seems it was having some success…

P1070043

P1070050

Whitbarrow Scar across the Kent Estuary.

The orchid triangle didn’t disappoint; the Twayblade has finished flowering, but there were new flowers to replace those…

P1070055

I’ve posted a few pictures to show the variety in shape and colouration.

P1070062

This middle one is, I suspect, Heath-spotted orchid, whereas the other two look more like Common spotted-orchid, but then orchids hybridise so who knows?

P1070065

P1070058

I’ve walked past these woods a couple of times this year, on Monday evening outings, and noticed quite a cacophony of bird noise. I assumed that somebody was keeping some kind of poultry in the woods.

P1070081

But I should have known better…

P1070083

A friend told me years ago that there was a heronry here. As I watched – and fat rain drops began to fall – several Little Egrets  and a Grey Heron flew to and from the trees.

P1070074

Not the sharpest photos, I know, but its so rare that I manage to catch birds in flight that I’ve decided to post them anyway.

P1070075

Orchids and Egrets

6 thoughts on “Orchids and Egrets

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks Alan – its a very short walk but pack a lot of peace and tranquility into that limited distance.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      We’ve only really had the one hot day. Hasn’t put the kids off, they went swimming in the Kent last weekend when the weather really wasn’t very promising (it improved whilst we were there).

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks Emma. I’ve always had a soft spot for herons, dating back to canal holidays and towpath walks in my childhood and now I’m almost as fond of the Little Egrets which have so quickly and successfully colonised the Morecambe Bay area.
      I hardly know Somerset at all, but would really like to visit. But then, the same can be said for vast swathes of the British Isles! So many places to go, so many things to see!

Leave a Reply

