Hollow Moor, Cocklaw Fell and Skeggles Water

P1070085

Another post walk escape, on a beautiful summer evening. I parked by the village rooms in Kentmere despite the signs warning me that, it being polling day, the parking was needed – it was very quiet and it didn’t seem likely that hoards of people would be arriving to register late votes. I’d cast my own vote before work and so could head into the hills and leave all thoughts of the neverendum behind. (I wish it were as easy to do that now!)

P1070087

Almost from the off, the path climbing out of the village gave great views. I was also very busy trying, and failing, to photograph the many and varied butterflies which were in evidence.

P1070091

P1070093

I didn’t have to climb far before the butterflies I had been seeing were supplanted by…

P1070098

…Small Heath butterflies, which I would continue to see for much of the walk, until the sun began to sink and the temperature had dropped too low for butterflies.

P1070104

Bird’s-eye Primrose.

I thought that this…

P1070106

…looked quite like Lousewort. Turns out that it is Lousewort, and the plant which I have been wrongly identifying as Lousewort is actually Marsh Lousewort. So now I know.

P1070110

A first view of Skeggles Water.

On the slopes of Green Quarter Fell I got rather over-excited about a large orangey-brown butterfly I saw. For no sound reason at all, I decided that it must be a Large Heath, which are rare and confined, in the UK, to a few northern locations. When it finally settled I managed to get some photos and…it wasn’t a Large Heath, but a tatty, faded Painted Lady. I haven’t posted any photos because they were very poor. I also saw Red Admirals again, but they were completely uncooperative on this occasion, and refused to pose for photos.

Birkett comments on the fine view of Upper Kentmere which the summit of Hollow Moor affords and he has a very good point…

P1070129

I was thinking that in the winter, with the sun low in the southern sky this would be a prime spot from which to take a photo of the Kentmere horseshoe.

P1070128

I’d been expecting to find a fair deal of wet and boggy going underfoot, but had been pleasantly surprised. As I dropped towards the top of Shaw Beck however, I encountered ground so suspiciously mobile that I wondered whether I could get across it. There was no actual water visible but a strip about two yards wide ran down the hillside with completely different vegetation than the surrounding grassy heath. There was Bog Bean flowering (my photo didn’t come out too well, which is a shame because its quite a striking plant) and also this…

P1070135

…unusual purplish flower, which I recognised  as Marsh Cinquefoil, although I’m not sure how I knew because I’m pretty certain that I’ve never seen it before.

I followed the wet ground ‘downstream’ until it became an actual beck and therefore much easier to cross.

P1070139

P1070141

Cocklaw Fell, in all honesty, turned out to be a bit of an non-event, but it was another Birkett ticked-off I suppose and it did bring me to a wall, busy with meadow pipits, which lead me down to Skeggles Water.

P1070149

P1070152

I felt some apprehension about my plan to walk around the far shore of Skeggles Water, there being no path marked on the map and the ground looking from a distance to be very flat and so probably liable to be boggy and impassable.

In the event, the going was rough and pathless, but the only significant obstacle…

P1070156

…is surmounted by a sturdy bridge.

P1070166

P1070165

P1070164

The walk from Skeggles Water back to the car took me past two lonely ruins. This…

P1070171

…is the larger of the two.

P1070172

Heading back down into Kentmere.

Hollow Moor.PNG

Hollow Moor, Cocklaw Fell and Skeggles Water

8 thoughts on “Hollow Moor, Cocklaw Fell and Skeggles Water

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yes, I thought so. I was slightly disappointed with the photo. I think I inadvertently changed a setting on my camera. Also the ground I was standing on to take it was moving and squelching in an alarming fashion.

  1. You’re becoming something of a Kentmere expert, another superb walk. “Suspiciously mobile” not a phrase you want to using when crossing mountain terrain 🙂

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Kentmere is the easiest place to get to in the Lakes which makes it very tempting for evening walks in particular. The Forest of Bowland and some parts of the Dales are even more accessible, but of late it’s been the Lakes I’ve wanted to visit. Mostly the terrain on this walk was surprisingly dry – I’ve walked by Skeggles Water before and I remember thinking that whilst the paths were fine everywhere else looked highly suspect. Actually, it was fine, but that one patch of ground was a full bog immersion waiting to happen.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks. It’s a great privilege being able to escape to the Lakes after work, even if it’s only for just a few weeks each year.

Leave a Reply

