Still Trying – a very uninformative post.

The Cove – The Lots

P1090022

Small Tortoiseshell.

Sometimes just a short walk, to familiar places, can yield a great deal of diversion and interest. (This was back in October btw)

P1090025

There are nine species of social wasps resident in Britain; this is one of them, but I can’t identify which.

P1090033

Drone Fly?

If it isn’t a Drone Fly, it’s a similar hover-fly, hoping to be mistaken for a Honey Bee.

P1090031

There are four species of brown Bumblebees in Britain; I think that this is one of those.

P1090032

Apparently, it’s hard to tell them apart without a microscope, but the most common, and so perhaps the most likely, is Bombus Pascuorum, the Common Carder Bee.

P1090039

Another hover-fly imitating something with a sting.

Most of these (poorly identified) insects were photographed on a patch of tall daisies with Dandelion like flowers, growing on the rough stony ground at the back of The Cove.

P1090036

…I’ve always struggled with identifying the myriad different yellow daisies…

P1090034

…but I thought that with a few photos…

P1090035

…of flowers, seed-heads and leaves I would be able to track this one down. However, I’ve consulted four different books and numerous websites and whilst I’ve found several plants which almost seem to fit the bill, all of them have some disqualifying feature, or at least that’s what I’ve convinced myself anyway.

P1090037

“The more I learn, the more I realise how much I don’t know.”

Albert  Einstein

Although, in my case, it’s more a case of: the more I try to learn, the more I realise how much I don’t know.

P1090045

Still, I enjoy the trying.

Still Trying – a very uninformative post.

8 thoughts on “Still Trying – a very uninformative post.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Absolutely! But you can never know it all and whilst knowledge can be satisfying in itself, I think that it’s probably the learning which is the most fun.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Too true. And you’re absolutely correct – I did learn something – 9 species of social was, and 4 species of Carder Bee. Now why are they called that? I think I feel some more research coming on, and I know just where too look….

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      All taken on the zoom, I don’t find the macro on this camera is very often of any use. Although I might eventually get around to buying some macro lenses (which fit onto the ends of the lens like a filter).

Leave a Reply

