Tarns and Birketts above Grasmere

P1090107

Helm Crag and Seat Sandal above Grasmere.

Early December, I have a Monday off work; the school is closed, a one day holiday. Ordinarily, I would prefer not to have an extra day off in December, when daylight is short and the weather is likely to be ropey, but it seems that I am in a very tiny minority amongst my colleagues who voted to continue our recent practice of having a long weekend in December.

P1090110

But, as luck would have it, when the day came around, the forecast was pretty fair and I was glad to have a day to myself with no Dad’s Taxi duties to perform. So it was that I had parked up in the long lay-by on the A591 just outside Grasmere (thus avoiding exorbitant parking fees) and was climbing out of the village toward Silver How.

P1090114

Grasmere.

It was a frosty morning, with a few wisps of mist still clinging to the valleys.

P1090116

P1090117

Langdale Pikes. The rocky hummock in the middle distance is Lang How.

P1090119

P1090121

A sundog or parhelion.

I’ve posted photos of this phenomena before. I’ve even been told that they are a common occurrence, but I don’t feel that I see them all that often.

Parhelion: a bright spot in the sky appearing on either side of the sun, formed by refraction of sunlight through ice crystals high in the atmosphere.

P1090122

Langdale Fells from Silver How.

P1090123

Helvellyn and Fairfield from Silver How.

P1090124

Grasmere and Rydal Water.

The broad ridge which runs along the northern edge of Langdale abounds in knolls and small tarns. The latter seem mostly to be choked with plants and on their way to drying out. My aim was to climb the knolls, well – the ones which qualify as Birketts at least – and to visit all of the tarns.

P1090126

Silver How Tarn.

For the names of the various tarns I’m following the lead of John and Anne Nuttall in their ‘The Tarns of Lakeland’ guides (two volumes, well worth having).

P1090128

Brigstone Tarn and Lang How.

P1090130

The Nuttalls don’t give a name for the small tarn in the foreground, the one behind is Youdell Tarn.

P1090131

Youdell Tarn with the Langdale Peaks behind.

P1090134

I’ve included this photo because it was taken from Lang How and it shows Swinescar Pike (the grassy hummock on the left) and Castle How (the broad grassy lump on the right).

P1090135

Looking back along the ridge from Little Castle How. Windermere in the distance.

P1090136

Great Castle How has two summits: on the OS map, one is named and the other has a spot height. The photo above shows the top with a spot height (left of centre of the photo) and was taken from the other top…

P1090138

This is the named top…

P1090142

…from the one with the spot height.

P1090139

Easedale Tarn.

P1090146

Castle How Tarns with Blea Rigg behind.

P1090147

One of the (three) Castle How Tarns.

Blea Rigg is another Birkett and I had originally half-intended to include it on the route, but it’s probably best that I didn’t: I descended by Easedale Tarn and arrived back in Grasmere with little daylight to spare. Still I hadn’t done too badly: four Birketts, eight tarns and one Wainwright (Silver How), all crammed into one relatively short walk.

I enjoyed my excursion into tarn bagging. I believe there’s a tradition of bagging the tarns by swimming in them. I opted not to do that; I would have had to break the ice to do so, and I suspect that many of the tarns, choked with reeds as they are, are rather shallow to swim in. From the photographer’s point of view, it probably makes at least as much sense to visit tarns as it does to climb to summits. Some tarns are well off the beaten track too, which is another bonus. I think you can expect more tarn-bagging walks as and when I can find the time – I think I may have another stray Monday off next December…

 

 

Tarns and Birketts above Grasmere

3 thoughts on “Tarns and Birketts above Grasmere

  1. That last photo is superb, you’ve caught the light reflecting on the tarn perfectly. Tarn bagging by swimming in them is an interesting idea, I might try that down my way as there aren’t all that many in South Wales

Leave a Reply

