Chapel-le-Dale Weekend – Great Douk Cave

PC180119

Our original plan had been to go back to Runscar Cave up at Ribblehead next, but a last minute inspiration saw us heading for Great Douk Cave instead. I don’t know why this hadn’t occurred to us before; the Shandy Sherpa and I had been there before, with our friend Geordie Munro, a couple of times, once after a long hot summer walk and then again a few years later to explore more thoroughly. Both visits were a very long time ago and it turned out that we both had rather sketchy memories of the cave. Andy remembered, but I didn’t, that the waterfall which pours out of the entrance can be avoided by a little crawl above to the right. I remembered, but Andy didn’t, that a short walk into the cave brings you to Little Douk Pot where daylight can be seen high overhead.

PC180121

B in Little Douk Pot.

Neither of us remembered the series of little cascades which we, probably rather pointlessly, struggled to ascend dry shod by straddling the narrow passage with a foot on either wall. (The boys loved it). Nor did we recall just how long the passage was, or the great wealth of flowstone features.

PC180153

I took an awful lot of photos. (If you want to see more, simply click on one of the photos and that will take you to my flickr account). Actually, carrying the camera in my hand proved to be quite awkward. The case worked very well however: at one point I fell over – a bit of a shocking experience, the water was pretty cold – and dropped the camera in the water, but somehow it stayed dry, even though the case isn’t really sealed, or waterproof.

PC180155

With wellies full of water, Little S was cold again, but he was still really happy, full of enthusiasm.

This feature…

PC180156

…proved to be quite awkward to get past. The others managed by squatting on their haunches and shuffling by; I went past on hands and knees, which filled my sleeves and my wellies with water – this was before I fell over.

PC180157

Andy remembered, but I didn’t, that this was where, when the passage gradually gets lower, Geordie Munro discovered a tiny crawl and got very excited when it brought him to a new, larger passage, or at least that was what he thought, but in fact he had doubled back to the original passage, where Andy and I were waiting, much to our amusement.

PC180158

I’ve since discovered that it’s possible to continue through a section of crawling to reach Middle Washfold Caves, but we didn’t know that at the time, so where the passage got very low we turned and retraced our steps (not that I would’ve been up for a lengthy crawl anyway). At this point we were soaked and had given up on our efforts to keep our feet out of the deeper water, which made our return journey an awful lot quicker.

Fortunately, it wasn’t as dark as this photo suggests…

PC180159

…we were all still smiling, and the bunkhouse and clean and dry clothes were only a short walk away.

Discussion about possible caving outings for next Christmas has already begun!

Chapel-le-Dale Weekend – Great Douk Cave

6 thoughts on “Chapel-le-Dale Weekend – Great Douk Cave

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      By any measure I’m too big for caving, but I did what I could. Crawling through narrow passages was never my forte and it’s definitely out now.

  1. Thoroughly enjoyable trip and far longer and way more interesting than I remember. I reckon we can get all the kids in this one next year as well as trying the full trip from the top end. Might be worth contacting the guy on the other blog and see if he has any other local recommendations for easy caves with the kids (was it on his website that you found Skirwith)
    Massively good fun and really enjoyed the pleasure the boys got from it as well as us oldies!

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      It was from his blog that I found Skirwith yes. He has a book out which might be worth investing in I think.

Leave a Reply

