All’s Right With The World

Park Road – Eaves Wood – Middlebarrow – Arnside Tower – Saul’s Road – Arnside Knott – Shilla Slope – Black Dyke – Middlebarrow Quarry – Eaves Wood.

P1090161

Oystercatchers and Black-headed Gull.

The day after Boxing Day was the kind of bright sunny day which always makes me feel cheerful.

The lark’s on the wing;

The snail’s on the thorn;

God’s in His heaven—

All’s right with the world!

Which is apparently a passage from Browning, although I know it because Wodehouse’s characters are apt to quote it when all is going well (which is to say, just before everything goes horribly, comically wrong).

P1090164

And yes, I know that the lark isn’t really on the wing at the end of December, well at least not in its characteristic steep display flight, but sunshine and blue skies just make everything look fresh and special and spring like.

P1090168

P1090170

P1090171

Reading up on the water tanks in Eaves Wood for my previous post, I was reminded that amongst the former owners of Hill House (now the Woodlands pub) were the Inman family  who were responsible for the planting of many of the trees in the woods.

P1090172

I think the circle of trees in the Ring o’Beeches must have been planted. I wonder if it was by the Inmans, who owned the wood in the first half of the Nineteenth Century?

P1090173

P1090174

P1090176

The larches too must have been planted.

P1090177

Arnside Tower.

P1090178

P1090179

Arnside Tower Farm.

The hill behind the farm is Arnside Knott and that steep slope is covered in a very loose scree, known locally as shilla. After I’d climbed the Knott I took a route which looped around and recrossed my ascent route, taking me down to a path through those trees at the bottom of the slope.

P1090184

Saul’s Road.

P1090186

I’d walked out of the front door before I’d decided where to go, but with a host of competing ideas in my head – it’s nice to have so many options. I’d plumped for Arnside Knott because I’d assumed that there would be great views of the Lakes…

P1090192

…but in fact everything beyond Whitbarrow Scar and Gummer How was lost in a grey haze. Never mind: plenty to see close at hand.

P1090196

P1090201

P1090202

Magic.

All’s Right With The World

8 thoughts on “All’s Right With The World

  1. On that path through the trees below the steep scree at about SD 456 772 there is a small spring running into a smooth hollowed out bowl of limestone. My old Springer, Barney knew it well and always stopped off there for a drink, and we once climbed directly up the scree from there. That was one of those things that just has to be done, but not to be repeated I think.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Not sure about the haze. I’ve often noticed something like it in the hills when you get the first warm days of spring – I always assume it’s the hills drying out a bit after winter, but I don’t think it was warm enough for that – it wasn’t really warm at all.

Leave a Reply

