All Beer and Skittles?

P1090336

Just in case I’ve given the false impression that we had an endless of succession of bright and sunny days here over Christmas and New Year, I’m posting a few photos from a turn around Eaves Wood which TBH and I enjoyed on one of the two foggy, final days.

P1090337

We’d had some considerably more grotty weather than that previously too.

P1090338

P1090339

Actually, if I don’t have to drive, and if it doesn’t last too long, I quite like a bit of fog for a change. The woods are quite atmospheric when full of mist.

P1090227

When the weather was poor, we managed to find other things to keep us occupied. Games are always popular. We played several old favourites over the holiday period, but we also acquired some new ones.

P1090231

Here, A and I have just finished playing my favourite of those – Carcassonne – which has quite simple rules, but really makes you think as you play.

I also picked up, second hand, this old favourite…

P1090226

…which I first played when I was in the sixth-form and which later became the fall back activity for some of our group of hill-walking friends if prolonged diabolical weather dampened our enthusiasm for being outdoors during trips to Scotland. I’m very excited about playing it again, although I’m uncertain whether I’ll ever find the twelve hours of free time needed, or six other players willing and able to join me.

All Beer and Skittles?

2 thoughts on “All Beer and Skittles?

  1. 12 hours inside with a few beers and a game of Civ. I’m in! I have Carcassone somewhere as well but I don’t think I’ve ever played it. There are loads of expansion kits and the like for it as well

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      You should try Carcassonne, it’s superb. If you get the river expansion included , like we did, then use that – I think it plays better with that.

Leave a Reply

