Leaf Piercers

P1090440

Last week we had a number of cold, clear, sunny days and I enjoyed several strolls around Lancaster at lunch times and once in the late afternoon. On Friday night I managed to get home early enough to set-out for a walk before the last of the light had gone. It was soon dark and, as often happens on my night time wanders, I was listening to several owls from various directions. When one called particularly loudly, seemingly from almost directly overhead, I looked up and there it was, perched on a branch not far above my head. It was a very pale bird, not a Barn Owl, I don’t think, but a male Tawny Owl, judging by the ‘hoo-hoo’ call.

The forecast for Saturday was dreadful, so when the rain unexpectedly stopped and it began to brighten up I was especially pleased to have a good opportunity to walk down to Hawes Water to see whether the Snowdrops had appeared in the woods there.

P1090443

One regional, alternative name for Snowdrops is Snow Piercers, but this year they are more Leaf-mould Piercers. At first I was dismayed by the thought that there were less flowers than in previous years, but in fact they are abundant again, but quite well hidden by a low shrub which is also thriving in the same part of the woods, I think maybe Wild Privet, but am far from confident.

P1090451

I seem lately to be timing my arrival on the duck-boards by Hawes Water to match sunset.

P1090456

Leaf Piercers

6 thoughts on “Leaf Piercers

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      This is the time of year to see Hawes Water, from the field in front of Challan Hall Mews. Otherwise you would have to climb a tree I think – it is elusive. Lancashire’s biggest natural lake apparently.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yes, there may not be many hours of daylight at this time of year, but when the sun does shine the quality of the light is fantastic.
      (And spring is on the way!)

  1. “Spring is on the way” – impossible to tell in the crazy world of British winter. Friday morning it was 13C when I got up for work at 6am, Saturday I was walking in ice and snow! Hawes Water at sunset is stunning photo

Leave a Reply

