Around Orain

P1090658

Our annual Highland gathering, transferred this year to a new venue – The Bridge of Orchy Hotel. On the Saturday, the party split into several smaller groups. I joined the posse heading for the ridges just behind the hotel: a round of Coir’ Orain taking in Beinn Inverveigh and Meall Tairbh.

P1090657

It was one of those sort of days when I took a few photos before we entered the cloud.

P1090661

One at the highest point…

P1090664

Meall Tairbh (665m).

…possibly; there was some dispute at the time.

P1090665

And then a few more photos after we had emerged from the clouds.

The weather wasn’t great, but we’ve had much worse. It snowed a bit, at times, but at least it didn’t rain, so it was a round of Orain, rather than a round in the rain.

This lukewarm, lack lustre description, perhaps makes it sound as if I didn’t enjoy the day. But I did. Enormously so, in fact. Partly because of the excellent company, but mostly because, when all’s said and done, wandering around  a soggy hillside in the mist and the snow is my idea of fun. I like it. Admittedly, I don’t always think I will in advance, and it’s proving difficult to think of anything exciting to say about it in retrospect. However, round the day off with a very fine steak and some inconsequential chatter with your oldest friends and you have a recipe for contentment, in my view at least.

No hill-day is complete without some element of list-ticking. Meall Tairbh, whilst not high enough to be a Munro, or a Corbett, is, apparently, both a Marilyn and a Graham, probably a Hump, not a Donald, but maybe a Trump. I’ve added it to my personal list of Hills to Revisit when the Weather is Kinder.

As usual, the weekend was organised (very well), booked (at a discount), and generally only took place because of all-round good-egg, Andy, who’s account of this walk you can read here.

 

 

 

 

 

Around Orain

6 thoughts on “Around Orain

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      We used to camp by the river near Loch Tulla, summer and winter, so it’s an area I’m very fond of too.

  1. I think it’s the company on days like this which makes the day and keeps everyone going. I’m pretty sure had I been at home or on my own I wouldn’t have walked that far, if at all. The fact that we make such an effort to get there kind of “forces” us out which is no bad thing. We’ve been out on some pretty bleak days on these trips and climbed some off the radar hills and I’ve enjoyed every one. I sometimes go out locally on bad days just for some exercise and whilst I get something from it, “enjoy” would be the wrong word. And of course the weather is always much better when EWO is with us! 😀

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I completely agree. I enjoy walking on my own, but it will never compare, for me, with a day out with the old MUHC crowd – particularly, as you say, when the weather is a bit off. When we were listing those reallt wild days we’ve had that have been really enjoyable – the Fannichs etc – I genuinely think they’re the best days walking I’ve had, but I wouldn’t have persevered on my own.

Leave a Reply

