Beinn Dubhchraig

P1090671

Sunday of our Bridge of Orchy weekend and we’re all out in one massed outing of Muppets.

The weather had started with great promise – some cloud, but also lots of blue sky and sunshine – but as we’d climbed the cloud had dropped and eventually it began to snow a little. But then, as we approached the end of our climb, the sun appeared as a watery disc in the cloud above. Sometimes lightening skies can be deceptive, but on this occasion rents in the cloud began to appear and partial views, both of the ridge and of the valleys below, were revealed.

P1090676

The mass Muppetry? – we’d set off intending to climb one of Beinn Dubhchraig’s ridges and descend another, but had instead ploughed up the hillside between the two. So what happened to our navigation skills? It was one of those cases of…

“Everybody was sure that Somebody would do it.  Anybody could have done it, but Nobody did it.  Somebody got angry about that, because it was Everybody’s job.  Everybody thought Anybody could do it, but Nobody realized that Everybody wouldn’t do it.  It ended up that Everybody blamed Somebody when Nobody did what Anybody could have.”

Except, I don’t think anybody was even remotely angry.

P1090679

The Tower Captain on the summit.

P1090681

Just off the top, we found a place out of the wind for the latest of many butty stops.

P1090685

The lifting clouds gradually revealed more and more of our surroundings in an exhilarating and tantalising display.

P1090693

We descended by the ridge we originally intended to climb. In places it was quite steep. And icy…

P1090695

P1090696

The views just got better and better.

P1090698

Loch Lomond.

P1090702

Ben More and Stob Binnein.

P1090703

P1090706

Ben more and Stob Binnein again.

P1090716

Beinn Challuim. (I think).

P1090718

Beinn Dorain and Beinn Odhar.

P1090722

More butties.

P1090726

Beinn Dorain and Beinn Odhar again.

P1090729

Beinn Dorain and Beinn Odhar. Again. I liked that view.

P1090735

Beinn Challuim again. I think.

P1090745

Alpenglow on Ben More and Stob Binnein. I suspect.

After two great days last year (accounts here and here), I was a bit shocked that we were lucky with the weather again. What’s more, I felt much fitter than I did last year, despite my lack of recent hill days, and so was able to enjoy it all the more.

Looking forward to next year’s trip already!

Beinn Dubhchraig

16 thoughts on “Beinn Dubhchraig

  1. You’re correct with all the hill names. Give yourself 5 points, you’ve earned it. Yet another great day and fitting end to a stonking weekend. Really like the lunch photo with the parting clouds

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I am pleased – I don’t have your ability to store away a zillion hill profiles and names – although I’m red hot in the Lakes, but them I ought to be really.
      That photo is my favourite too. It reminds me of some I took on Ullscarf a few years ago (you’ll remember that day) which is why I took them that way.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Hello Again,
      I should probably be less lazy and provide translations for the gaelic names – many have beautiful meanings. The scenery is stunning, and we were lucky to have the weather to show it at its best.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Our ‘walks’ are in fact, extended picnics, with many, many stops – and if conditions are right, long stops to sit, or better yet lie, and enjoy the view. I’m not averse to a mid-walk nap either.

        1. beatingthebounds says:

          Well….not intentionally. I see what you mean – there is some effort involved, but the stopping is at least as important as the walking. When I’m on my own, its stopping to look at birds, churches, leaves, clouds etc etc. When I’m with my friends, it’s stopping to have a sandwich, admire the view and rehash old stories, put the world to rights etc. And I really do like a nap on a warm day.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks Conrad – I hope it added savour! This was my third ascent of Beinn Dubhchraig, so bordering on the nostalgic for me too.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      What surprised me was that some of my friends remained convinced that we had actually climbed one of the ridges, when it had always been obvious that we weren’t. I just assumed that a decision had been made not to follow a ridge whilst I was trailing in the rear of the party.

Leave a Reply

