Little and Often

P1090749

Anyone who follows, or even just occasionally dips into this blog, will know that I like to get out for an evening walk. Or a morning walk. Or, pretty much an any time of day walk.

P1090755

To a certain extent, since I started the blog, I’ve become guilty of seeing the aim of these walks as being to provide fodder, and particularly photographs, for the blog. So that, for example, there would be little point of rousing myself for a late walk on a gloomy day in early March to see whether the daffs were flowering in the woods near Far Arnside, if the low light was going to hamper my photography.

P1090753

Green Hellebore.

Since the New Year, however, I’ve bucked my ideas up, turned over a new leaf, rung the changes,….(insert similar cliches to taste) and have been trying to get out every day, even if it’s only for fifteen minutes. Many of these walks have been in the dark. Or the rain. Or both. And often my camera has been left at home.

P1090759

But now the evenings are getting lighter and even when the light is low and the sun has sunk behind a bank of cloud to the west, there’s still always something to see or hear.

P1090765

I see that Mr Sloman has a daily target of 3 miles. And I know that Bertrand Russell once advocated a regular 6 mile walk. Maybe I need a GPS enabled device so that I can track my own milage.

P1090761

In the meantime, I shall just keep on keeping on.

Little and Often

6 thoughts on “Little and Often

  1. I know what you mean about feeling a walk is only worth doing if it’s worth blogging about. I caught myself thinking like this last year, and for the past 6 months I have been making sure I walk a few miles every day – even in the rain, even in the dark – and I also leave my camera behind.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I think that’s a wise policy. In the early years of the blog, I imagined that the blog would be my surrogate dog and get me out of the door, and it did, but now I need a more flexible approach.

  2. I try to walk every day, too. I used to have a goal of 3 miles and later 500 kcal, but the walks without any goal make more fun. I started a blog last year and I have an opposite problem – I think an every day walk is not worth to blog about, I need to hike elsewhere to blog about it. So, lately I started to blog about random things that have nothing do to with walking. But I will change that 🙂
    Greetings from Slovenia 🇸🇮

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      The photographs on your blog are amazing. I know exactly what you mean, I often feel that my little local patch is probably only of interest to me. In a way, it’s worse now, after 9 years of wittering on about the same spots and the same flowers, birds, leaves etc. But when I started the blog I was suffering from anaemia, so had very little energy, and local walks were almost the only option. And besides, I’ve long since realised that the target audience of the blog is…me, in as much as, there would be no point writing it if I didn’t enjoy doing it, so it had better be about the walks I actually do and enjoy. Having said that, it’s very nice when somebody drops by to say hello from Slovenia, or Portland, or wherever else in the Blogosphere! Happy walking!

  3. Interesting thoughts. I sometimes only take photos with a view to how they will look on the blog, probably why I take so many. Whatever excuse you pick for a walk has to be a good one, as long as it gets you out and about. I use the same rationale with the bike. Whenever I’m at home I always try to go out for a ride for at least 30 mins for a bit of exercise and fresh air. Now the evenings are lighter I can start thinking about some after work walks as well

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Oh yes – after work walks, some of my best opportunities, and you get the hills to yourself. Looking forward to getting out there.

Leave a Reply

