Quince, Sparrows, Blackbirds, Sunset

P1090786

This cheery Quince is on one of the verges of Cove Road, practically on our doorstep. About a week before I took these photos, I’d previously tried to capture the Sparrows which like to congregate here, but was frustrated by low light. Then, the flowers had been tight buds, like small scarlet berries.

P1090788

We have a couple of Quince in our garden, they’ve been there since we moved in, stuck in pots – little more than large buckets really – and ‘trained’ against an east-facing wall. They aren’t very happy and in twelve years have barely grown, producing few flowers and no fruit.

P1090789

I think I should stick them into a border. Maybe then I can have a go at making Membrillo to go with the Manchego which the kids like so much.

P1090790

A lot of recent walks have been at the end of a sunny day, but when the sun has been dipping behind cloud. By contrast, this one took place on a wet day which had brightened up.

P1090797

Blackbirds, female and…

P1090799

…male.

P1090802

Forsythia.

P1090803

This was a couple of days before the Spring Equinox, but nobody had told the woodland plants which exploit the period before the trees come back into leaf; the Ramsons (above), Dog’s Mercury and Cuckoo Pint which carpet the local woods were all in full swing, not waiting for any official starter’s pistol.

I didn’t go very far, just up to the Pepper Pot to look at the bay and the sky…

P1090811

…then down through Eaves Wood by a route I don’t often take…

P1090814

And along to The Cove to look at the bay and the sky some more.

P1090829

Finally across The Lots and home along Spring Bank an appropriately named local street.

P1090831

When I turned the corner from the lane into our front garden I almost walked into a Roe Deer buck. I’m not sure which of us was more startled. Earlier, when it had been raining, the boys had been anxious to point out to me the pair of Roe Deer which were foraging at the bottom of our garden. Now there were four deer. They fled into our neighbour’s garden. I followed them as best I could, by walking round into our back garden. I didn’t get any photos of the deer, but I did spot an enormous Bumblebee…

P1090835

…which was very industriously exploiting the large patch of these early flowers which I have never been able to identify. I took lots of photos, all of them a bit rubbish, but it was quite dark at this point!

Quince, Sparrows, Blackbirds, Sunset

9 thoughts on “Quince, Sparrows, Blackbirds, Sunset

  1. Despite the fact that deer are in fact pretty common, I still enjoy seeing them when I’m out walking, cycling or even when they alarmingly jump out in front of the car as they often do on my drive down the Wye Valley to/from work

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Me too – saw three in the woods tonight in near darkness. Very nearly hit one on the road to Carnforth a couple of weeks ago too.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Good to be forewarned – I like cooking, but am not happy with anything which involves too much faff. I suppose that introduces the question of where you draw the line and what constitutes too much? I made the kids Rosti the other day, which went down very well, but they won’t be getting it again too soon, because grating the parboiled potatoes came very close to that line.

        1. beatingthebounds says:

          A glut of plums. Is that the collective noun? That sounds marvellous. I love plums. We have a plum tree, which gives, or I should say gave very early fruit, but it hasn’t produced any fruit for years. It’s in a large container and I should probably transfer it to a bed and see if it does any better there.

Leave a Reply

