The Peace of Wild Things

Hagg Wood – Silverdale Green – Clark’s Lot – Silverdale Green – Burtonwell Wood – Lambert’s Meadow – Bank Well – The Row – Golf Course – Leighton Moss – Trowbarrow Quarry – Moss Lane – Jubilee Wood – Ring O’Beeches – Eaves Wood 

P1090979

Ear Fungus.

P1090980

Blackthorn Blossom.

P1090981

More Blackthorn Blossom (with photobombing Bee?).

P1090982

Gooseberry Flowers.

P1090984

New Sycamore Leaves.

P1090988

Roadside verge White Violets.

P1090987

P1090989

Emerging Horse Chestnut leaves and flower.

P1090993

Ash buds transmute into blackberries.

P1090997

Then wacky flowers.

P1100002

More Blackthorn.

P1100003

Primroses.

P1100007

P1100017

Wood Anemone.

P1100018

Marsh Marigold.

P1100020

Willow Catkins.

P1100021

I liked the colours.

P1100028

And the variety.

P1100033

P1100026

And the various stages.

P1100040

P1100044

P1100038

Obligatory Robin.

In Eaves Wood I thought I could hear Chiff-Chaffs a returning migratory warbler bringing news of spring. However, I’m very suspicious of my own bird identifications, especially when they are based on song only, so I was tempted to dismiss this as a mistake. Tempted that is, until the following morning, when a Chiff-Chaff was singing proudly from the Birch tree right by our kitchen window – incontrovertible evidence that they are back!

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting for their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

Wendell Berry

It’s that time of year again. Lots of evening walks. Lots of photographs of flowers and Robins. And poems. Not e.e.cummings yet. But soon!

The Peace of Wild Things

4 thoughts on “The Peace of Wild Things

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks Alan. I only know Wendell Berry through the internet, but I often like his poems when I come across them. I think I might have to investigate further.

Leave a Reply

