Another Morecambe Bay Sunset

P1100128

Title says it all really. The familiar late walk around the The Cove and The Lots. Only unusual because I’d already been this way earlier with our friend The Painter when he dropped by for a visit.

I occasionally threaten to broaden the scope of this blog with recipes and posts about card games etc. Since I don’t have much to say about my walk, I decided to enliven this post with some book recommendations:

P1100248

These books qualified because I’ve read them reasonably recently, they make a representative, heterogenous sample of my reading fodder, I really enjoyed them and I could lay my hands on them to take a photo, so, for example, the excellent history of piracy I read in February isn’t here because I don’t know where I’ve put it. Most of these were second-hand purchases, although I should say that ‘H is for Hawk’ was a present from TBH and ‘1927’ was loaned to me by some-time star of this blog X-Ray.

With regard to the books: if you’ve read Ronald Turnbull’s ‘Book of the Bivvy’ you’ll know what to expect from him; this is a book both about John Muir and about following in his footsteps. ‘H is for Hawk’ deserved all of the critical acclaim it garnered and also encouraged me to finally get around to reading T.H.White’s ‘The Goshawk’, which I also enjoyed. ‘1927’ is fascinating, full of surprising things I didn’t know about. I’ve been meaning to mention ‘Don’t Point That Thing at Me’ for some time, not only because I enjoyed it, but because the final section of the book is set in and around Silverdale, so it seems very pertinent to this blog. ‘How to Live’ is a great read, and had me digging out my two volume translation of Montaigne’s ‘Essays’, although I haven’t made huge progress with them. I believe the BBC are making an adaption of ‘The City and The City’; it will be interesting to see how they deal with the central conceit of two contiguous but mutually disregarding cities – this was good enough to have me seeking out more novels by Mieville. I haven’t finished ‘A Radical History of Britain’ or ‘The Nautical Chart’, but I’m enjoying them both enormously. I’ve read the Perez-Reverte before, it was the first of his novels I read, but then I lent it to somebody, forgot who I’d lent it to and never got it back. I picked up a new copy for a few pence at the village coffee morning and started reading it on Wednesday when I had some time on my hands waiting to go in to theatre for a minor op, and then waiting to be discharged afterwards*. Don’t read ‘Swallow This’ if you ever intend to eat processed food again. Otherwise, it’s highly illuminating journalism about the food industry, and somewhat alarming. ‘The Buried Giant’ is quite an odd novel, I thought, but I like odd novels, so that’s alright.

P1100132

P1100134

These were behind the benches above the Cove. Is this ‘yarn-bombing’?

P1100135

It was a bit too dark for photos of birds really. Best to stick to the sunset…

P1100138

P1100139

*It went very well, better than expected in fact. Thanks for asking.

Another Morecambe Bay Sunset

7 thoughts on “Another Morecambe Bay Sunset

  1. Well, it seems I need to read ar least Turnbull’s Muir and more because I love John Muir. I’m reading his Journeys in the Wilderness – this Book ist almost like Bible to me 🙂
    Have a nice Sunday,
    Nadja

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      It’s a very enjoyable book. I have several John Muir books around the house. But haven’t read any of them. Yet. I’ll get around to it!

  2. I liked “Don’t point that thing at me”, couldn’t get on with” H is for Hawk”, and can’t find “A Radical History of Britain” or “1927” even though I remember buying them. 🙂

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I have that problem a lot, which can be very frustrating. I read half of Gerald Durrell book recently and then put it down somewhere and haven’t found it since. Very annoying.

Leave a Reply

