Little and Often – Three is the Magic Number

P1100540

As if to underline my point about the ubiquity of Nuthatches, I spotted this one, well heard it first, but then found it, when I was hardly out of our front door.

P1100541

An early start this one, you can tell from the long shadows.

P1100552

Female Blackbird.

P1100556

Looking back at the village and Eaves Wood from near the Green.

P1100558

Song Thrush…

P1100559

…singing.

P1100560

On Stankelt Road many of the roofs and chimney pots had one or two Jackdaws.

P1100561

I suppose, like Arnside Tower and Trowbarrow quarry where I often see them, this environment is sufficiently like the rocky cliffs they prefer to feel like home.

Like Nuthatches, Blue Tits are ubiquitous, but perhaps even more fidgety and difficult to see clearly long enough to photograph.

P1100563

Today, at various points around the walk, they were more amenable.

P1100565

This prominent perching spot…

P1100568

…was occupied by a Crow the last two times I went past it, but today the Crow had seemingly been usurped by a very strident Nuthatch.

P1100570

A hazy view of Grange.

P1100571

Shelducks and Oyster-catcher

P1100573

Another female Blackbird, with….? Doesn’t look particularly like food or nesting material.

P1100574

P1100576

Male Blackbird looking on. With a broken wing? I feel a song coming on.

P1100578

Like I said, the Ramsons on the verge on Cove Road are flowering already.

P1100580

So are the Bluebells.

P1100581

Move gave this walk as 3.9km, but when I’ve walked a slightly longer variation on this subsequently, it gave it as 3.8km. I shall have to assume that it’s only approximate. I’ve tried measuring the longer version on a map using WalkJogRun (thanks for the tip Jackie) which came up with 2.34 miles, which, by my calculation, is a little bit less than the 3.8km, but then, measuring on the ground really ought to give a slightly greater value so that’s okay.

P1100583

I think that this is probably another Raven, simply because it seemed so large. It was in the field by Cove Road and hopped onto the fence in front of me. Unfortunately, the camera’s auto-focus wasn’t playing so I didn’t get what should have been an excellent photo. When the bird regally hopped down onto the road, it managed to give the distinct impression that it wasn’t the least bit afraid of me, but was moving because it genuinely wanted to.

P1100588

Green Alkanet.

Apparently, according to a study conducted in New Zealand last year, people who have Type 2 diabetes should exercise three times a day, preferably after eating. Frankly, I’ve rarely managed three walks a day, but I’m quite often out twice. And, yes, I have T2D, something I’ve only obliquely referred to on the blog before. I feel more comfortable about mentioning it now, since my blood test last week showed my HbA1c to be down from 9.7 (pretty bad) in January to 6.7 (almost acceptable) last week.

So, I was out again after tea, without my camera, since it was cloudy and wet, for a tour around Eaves Wood, including around the northern side, Middlebarrow, which I don’t visit all that often. That came out as 6.0km. This three miles business is easy. When I’m not at work, anyway.

Little and Often – Three is the Magic Number

10 thoughts on “Little and Often – Three is the Magic Number

  1. A walk straight after dinner can be wonderful Spring to Autumn, but pretty lousy in the depths of winter.
    Good luck controlling the T2D. It sounds like you’re doing a grand job, shimmying through narrow styles.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks Alan. I’m hoping to go one better than control it, and get rid of it altogether. Which conventional wisdom deems impossible. But that is my intention. We will see….

  2. I often wonder if the walk jog run allows for gradients. It’s not really an issue where I live but I can see it would make the distances wildly inaccurate where you walk.
    Have you thought of a cheap pedometer? They will give you steps and distance. I have one where you need to input your stride length before you start using it. It automatically goes back to zero at midnight. Another great motivator I think.

    I’m worried hubby might be heading for T2D and am currently reading Dr Michael Mosley’s “Blood Sugar Diet”
    He totally says it’s reversible. If you loose weight from around your middle the fat drains out of your liver and pancreas and they can start functioning properly again.
    You can read some of it using the “look inside” function here.

    Hope you don’t mind me commenting on this.
    Great photos as always and well done on the walks.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Not at all. I don’t have Michael Mosley’s book but I’m using the same low carb and intermittent fasting approaches. Seems to be working so far.
      I have a pedometer, but I’m sceptical about how accurate they are. I don’t think the ups and downs here will make a massive difference, although walking in the Lakes or the Dales it does have a huge impact on the effort involved.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Oh I see! Blimey, I don’t suppose Dr Mosley will object to even this little bit of publicity. I’m hoping to have more to say about diet and T2D in the future.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      We did ta. Quite enjoying the daily posting schedule, but don’t think I can sustain it much longer. The (almost) daily walking I intend to stick with.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I think Ramsons was the common name, although Wild Garlic has definitely replaced it, perhaps as Garlic has become more acceptable as an ingredient in the UK! There are other Garlics which grow in the UK, although they are introduced species and Wild Onion is also called Crow Garlic, confusingly.

Leave a Reply

